Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 November 2014
This is a really 'delightful' little book, and it gave me quite a lot of chuckles. It is a clear introduction into the absurdities of the 'English Nation', although it does keep referring to us as 'British!!' I found it to be the kind of book, to sit down with on the sofa, with a nice hot cup of tea, on a day when you might be feeling a little down, - although you will loose that feeling very quickly!! The book has been written in a clear and easy format, and is well worth the price, given the presentation that it has. You don't need to be an 'In-comer' or a 'Foreigner' to enjoy this little book, but, it made me feel very 'Proud' to have been Born and Bred in 'England.'!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 1999
Without a doubt this is the most important book published in the last 2000 years. And the funniest. And one of the most reasonably priced. 'The Little Book Of Wrong Shui' is the perfect book for anyone who's had enough of the New Age mumbo-jumbo that is engulfing the planet. In the book, Candappa (author of the equally cynically fab 'Little Book Of Stress') turns his decidedly left-field gaze in the direction of Feng Shui. The result is a tome promoting the values of the ancient philosophy of 'Wrong Shui', a philosophy originally espoused by The Master - Eu Plon Ka. Candappa offers such pearls of wisdom as 'to attract visitors to your home place your stereo and hi-fi equipment where it can be seen from the road'. Or 'to encourage conversation at dinner parties , always have one less chair than guests'.And who could deny the wisdom of the old Wrong Shui proverb that states 'there may be a shopping trolley for every pond, but there isn't a pond for every shopping trolley'. Also included in the book is a hilarious section on Wrong Shui horoscopes. This gives you the chance to discover if you were born in 'The Year Of The Earwig' or 'The Year Of The Flange'and discern the worringly accurate character descriptions associated with each. All in all this book is an absolute joy. And one I have no hesitation in recommending very highly.It makes the perfect little gift for anyone with a sense of humour. Frankly, if you don't laugh at this I'd go and see a doctor.
0Comment| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
This is a good read. It's funny and serious and very accurate. I think any Brit will enjoy reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Seen a few years ago and not bought. Found recently and quite delighted at the way we Brits can poke fun at ourselves - the nostalgia is a bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 1999
I have *never* laughed so much at one book. The "philosophy" of Wrong Shui is at the same time both piercingly accurate and side-splittingly funny. If you only ever buy one book in your entire life, seperate your small change from your pocket fluff and share the thoughts of Master Eu.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2005
Even if you have only had a passing view of Feng Shui you will find this book wonderfull.
I have bought this book for friends - what more can I say. . .
Well, I'll just say it's wonderfull once more.
Joe
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2009
As a Feng Shui consultant with the strict rules of Feng Shui to follow surely I could be forgiven, as could other feng shui consultants , for taking ourselves a bit too seriously. Then along comes the Little Book of Wrong Shui to put us in our places!Based on the Philosophy of Eu Plon Ka the little book of Wrong Shui shows us the other side of the coin to Feng Shui. For example "Mind The Gap - Removing the occasional floorboard from your home will generate in you a heightened sense of awareness of your surroundings!" This philosophical book may confuse and amuse but certainly has its place among those books describing The Art of Placement in a serious vein.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2004
Political correctness.
Uplifting self-help books.
Feng Shui.
Three things I hate when taken to the excess so often found - and all marvellously parodied here.
A perfect little book for a giggle whenever you pick it up. Re-readable too.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2007
In the never ending quest for christmas presents for all and sundry, I found this book - and it's the perfect solution. It really is laugh out loud funny, as well as having some serious bits and things you didn't know too. I can't recommend it highly enough, and it is a fantastic gift for young and old, male or female.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
I always enjoy a good laugh at the expense of excessive new-agism. This small book gives mock-advice on achieving happiness in life by placing stuff according to points of the compass, imaginary veins of water and such. Most of it is very funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)