Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now New Album - Steps Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
85
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2014
A tour de force from Kelsey Grammer.

The nitty-gritty version of city politics where any semblance of West Wing lofty ideals is blown away in a maelstrom of ever shifting alliances.

It's addictive, mesmerising and entertaining.

What possessed them to cancel this, I do not know. American TV executives have yet to learn the lesson that while Americans might not appreciate their great dramas, Europeans certainly do.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
This is a brilliant show. The opening credits are accompanied by the song ‘Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down’ by Robert Plant and this sums perfectly up what this series is all about. It is a ‘slow’ show where the real action happens behind closed doors in offices and election trailers or in the open in exclusive restaurants and at cocktail parties. I guess that one has to be somewhat interested in politics and its behind the scenes workings to enjoy ‘Boss’ although it is even more about human nature including vanity, weakness and greed. Seeing that the series has a much less optimistic undertone than shows like ‘The Newsroom’ and ‘The West Wing’, your belief in humanity will get a few blows. However, the bruises, the disappointments, it is all worth it. The idea of the older politician who is very ill and who is nearing the point where he is unable to govern, but who continues to cling on to power is very human and consequently a returning narrative in political history – Roosevelt, Mitterand and Chavez being only a few examples. Kelsey Grammer is fantastic as mayor and although the rest of the cast is really good too, you can almost feel him physically tower above everyone else – like his character is supposed to do. He is like a heavy shadow hanging over the city hall and the city itself. ‘Cheers’ was fun to watch but ‘Boss’ is a tale of Kings.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Being a member of another site where I got some very tasty clips of shows, is where I first saw Boss, but obviously didn't know anything more about it, and then I saw it one day online for a very small price, both seasons, and I read what it was about. It turned out to be a great show.

The first thing that struck me was the way these shows are made now, and that doesn't just include this, but things like Lip Service and Dominion, (both of which I have) and other shows, all are restricted, for more mature audiences, and all have stronger language in them, sexual scenes, nudity and violence, but they are still great, great dramas. It seems they have decided to grow up a bit. I believe it all started way back when with one of my all time favourites, NYPD Blue, which lets face it, raised the bar and set the modern standards and other shows have done exactly the same since then. Boss for me, continues this terrific modern tradition, but I am surprised that it didn't go further than two seasons.

I'm not sure anyone really needs me to spell out the plot and premise of the show and ruin it, except to say that Kelsey Grammer is the tough, but merciless mayor of Chicago and rules his city and those who work around him with an iron fist, but he harbours a dark secret, which he struggles to keep away from the media. Needless to say, Kelsey Grammer is gripping, brilliant and he has certainly seemed to put his comedy days behind him. He does strong drama just as well!

I have just seen both seasons through from start to finish and I am now almost immediately watching it through from the beginning again, yes, it is that good. Obviously it depends on individual tastes, but this is a cracking drama which I would recommend to anyone. It features some brilliant drama, it is occasionally scary, it is now and then, tragic, it is very often sexy, and it is always intriguing. At the end of each episode now, when the credit goes up for exec producer, I nearly always think, oh, damn, over already? By the way, if anyone remembers Kathleen Robertson, (who I know from a film on dvd from the 90s I have called Blown Away, starring the two Corey's and the last they made together, also featuring Nicole Eggert), check this out, since she has really grown up into a hot piece and she plays a major part.

They only made two seasons of this, maybe judge for yourself if it could have gone on longer. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 May 2013
Boss is an incredibly powerful, compelling and adult drama series. Hats off to Kelsey Grammer for being brave enough to portray the loathsome Kane. It is a tribute to his phenomenal acting ability that he is so completely able to cast off the shackles of his sympathetic Frasier role. Grammer is joined by a stellar cast who also show considerable courage in playing such thoroughly hateful people. We always knew that politics in Chicago was a dirty business but did any of us realise it was quite this disgusting? A brilliant series and, for me, much more convincing than the similarly-themed House of Cards - Season 1 (DVD + UV Copy) [2013]. Powerful stuff.
22 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
My partner recently discovered series 2 of this much underrated show cranked out at midnight on one of the UK Freeview channels. A complete tragedy that it's not getting a wider audience, though some of the language is a bit strong for primetime.

I'm pleased to say that season 1 did not disappoint. A marvellously dramatic turn from Kelsey Grammer. Brilliant writing, superb acting. I'd class it as a localised and darker version of The West Wing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2017
Not watched it. Purchased in error didn`t know I`d bought it but too late to cancel by the time I realised I had. It`s too easy to purchase such things by accident. should have a final "are you sure" button to check.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Kelsey Grammar as 'The Boss' of Chicago is fantastic. This is his best role yet and he plays it superbly.

The camera work is beautiful and visually the show is spectacular. Although the plot-line is filled with twists and turns, the story is pretty easy to follow and you find yourself being swept up in corruption, mystery and Grammar's character's struggles with his health, family and the choices he has to make between his survival in politics and the good of the city.

It is quite possibly the best series since the Sopranos in my opinion. I have lent the set to numerous friends who have all completely fallen in love with it. I watched the entire series over a weekend, i couldn't tear myself away and i had watched it all on TV before the DVD came out!

Can't wait for series 2!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
The storyline looks good and Kelsey Grammer plays the part well. However, the whole thing is ruined by the shaky cameras that are not just unsettling, they are totally annoying. I would recommend to the producers that they produce the series again, but make the cameras more steady.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 February 2015
Kelsey Grammer? Brilliant. The rest of The Boss? Frustratingly close.

The Boss never made it to the big time - it only got to its second season before being cancelled and only managed a late night screening on a lesser channel on British TV. But the tale of a fictional Chicago Mayor, played brilliantly by Kelsey Grammer, is oh so close to being a classic.

At its best, Grammer powers the show to a cross between The West Wing and House of Cards. At its worst, implausible characters and unlikely scripts drag it down to the level of cringe-inducing rather than entertaining. Grammer's brilliance means you very quickly forget the previous, famous and very different, roles he has played. He dominates his scenes - and dominates them as Mayor Tom Kane, not as That Chap From Those Comedy Series.

The show focuses on the behind-the-scenes manoeuvring in politics, relatively slow-paced but with plenty of plot subtlety to follow and a fearsome mix of ego, vanity, greed and ambition amongst a large cast of deeply flawed people. There are no heroes as Grammer tries to cling on to power.

If you like politics, you'll love the show even if - like me - you also end up wishing it was just that smudge better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
brilliant series and I was hooked from the start
Couldn't wait for the next instalment
Kelsey Grammer is outstanding and is a million miles away from his sitcom days
thus proving his acting skills
bravo!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)