Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 10 November 2001
I have just finished Austin Healey's book in one sitting and couldn't stop laughing. From an incident with a stick of rock through his manipulation of his Lions teammates in Oz this summer the book was a thoroughly entertaining account of life as a rugby pro. In two parts, it deals with the Tigers (don't skip) and England, then on to this summer's Lions tour to Oz - if you want an access all area's account of international rugby life without the barbs removed, this is the book. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2001
This autobiography makes for exciting reading, however, be under no illusions, this book is basically about the lions tours austin has played in, moving quickly through the first chapters and onto the lions diary aspect of the book. It does not suffer for this though, and does make exciting reading - highly recommended indeed.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2001
I am a huge Austin Healey fan and was therfore eagerly awaiting the release of his autobiography since I first heard he was writing one back in May. I was not disappointed at all,I'm not being biased but this is one of the best rugby autobiographies that I have read by any player. It is brutally honest and even if you didn't like him before there is no way that you can read this book and not sympathise with him through his Lions disappointment in the summer. He is a talented enough player that he certainly would have been on the bench, if not in the starting 15 for every test match, but ended up being left looking on the outside in when serious injuries dealt him cruel blows at the last minute.
I strongly recommend that you buy this book, you'll certainly enjoy it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2001
What a brilliant book - easy to read, hilarious and very candid. Austin writes how he talks, and you can easily picture the images he conjures up. My two sons thought the story about his mum running on the pitch and handbagging a boy that had just brought him down was hilarious. Love him or hate him (and I think you will finish the book loving him), this is a must for any rugby fan, whatever team they support!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2003
Austin Healey is probably the funniest man in world rugby today. This book describes to us the disappointment of his Lions tour to Oz in 2003, after getting so close to a test place but only to be ruled out by injuries. The book also describes is highs of playing for club and for country. Love him or hate him this book is a must for all rugby fans and anyone who needs a good laugh, as this one will keep you amused for hours.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2006
Very entertaining book - ideal for any Austin fan obviously, gives a brief insight into his younger years, a few chapters dedicated to his rugby career but the 2001 Lions Tour is the main subject of this book.

Austin does not hold back with his views on how rugby should be played, who should be coaching him and where he should be playing - very entertaining.

This book is easy to read and entertaining - not one of the dull biographies you often find where you skip pages - in the book every paragraph and sentance is worth a read.

Ideal for all ages, rugby fan or not. 246 pages, includes 16 pages of entertaining photographs from when he was a boy to the lions tour, includes Austins 2001 lions players and team ratings which brings a smile to your face. Gives a good unserstanding into the way Austin thinks in an entertaining way.

Top weekend read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Very good, Austin would always be in my team, a utility player par excellence. He always shot from the hip too.

A right terrier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Bought it for my daughter but read it after her. Good read, knowing Austin as an abrasive character at times it tells his story very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2005
How can a guy, who wrote his first autobiography at 14, get someone else to write this one now?. Anyway, this book reads like all the other journalist/ Sportsman partnerships, rubbish. Just a run down of all the key moments in rugby, club and country etc, yada, yada, yada. No personal touches I'm afraid and that makes it instantly forgettable for anyone who isn't an England fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 September 2008
Unfortunately you can hear his voice as you read. Usually that's a great thing in a book - Murray Walker, Jeremy Clarkson, Martin Johnson or Gordon Ramsay spring to mind - but unfortunately not with Healey. You are just reminded what a self centred, conceited idiot he is and I couldn't bear to read any more. Sorry, but I couldn't stand it after about one chapter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)