Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
11
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£17.93
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2006
This remains the best all-round introduction to kernel programming where most of us start - writing device drivers.
The third edition has been update to include information on writing VFS/file system drivers: an important update.
The text does remain rather too ia32 centric though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
Despite the age, this is still one of the best references about device drivers in Linux.
It is a "hands-on" book, which explains how drivers work, and how you can implement your own driver. It does not provide much information about the reasons why things are implemented in a certain way under Linux: it is not a book about Linux internals, therefore it does not cover parts unrelated to device drivers.
Unfortunately, it is not complete, and some mechanisms (e.g., platform devices) are not covered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2009
This book is very useful for people thath wants learn about linux device drivers. The approach followed by the authors is practical oriented and involve the reader.
The descriptions of kernel data structure and subsystem (such as pci and usb) is very clear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Starting working on device drivers in unix based enviroment, this book is the best choice. It helped me so much to understand the general philosophy of a driver's design. It is a well written book. An absolute guide for the world of drivers in linux os.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
Really useful to understand how drivers work and internal functions.
Great price to have it printed.

Btw, the same book is under a creative commons share alike license, so the author has a pdf version in his webpage :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Couldn't wait until Christmas for the new edition:
One way to build a working 2.6.10 (circa 2005) kernel dev platform in 2016

Ubuntu 5.04 has a 2.6.10 kernel
old-releases[dot]ubuntu[dot]com[slash]releases[slash]hoary
old-releases[dot]ubuntu[dot]com[slash]releases[slash]hoary[slash]source

Installer doesn't like USB...
Burn 'install' .iso for IDE optical drive, and _EMPTY_ hard disk (to avoid GRUB v GRUB2 fail)
I used Parallel ATA devices - suspect SATA drives won't work, but knock yourself out...

Dig out an internal Ethernet card. I gave up on WiFi when oldest card I had required ndiswrapper upgrade which required a gcc upgrade. No thanks.

Unsurprisingly, network repos for 5.04 are offline, so after installation download 4 source cd isos
[sudo mount -r -o loop thenameof.iso /cdrom]
[sudo umount /cdrom] to unmount

Copy ncurses- and linux-source- .orig.tar.gz tarballs from
/cdrom/pool/main/... to /usr/src

Install ncurses first:
[gunzip ][tar xvf ][cd ][./configure][make][sudo make install]

Then linux-sources:
[gunzip ][tar xvf ][cd ][make menuconfig]
change 'filesystems' > 'ext3' from module(M) to builtin(*)
and to be safe, do the same for sysfs, tmpfs, (vfs?), 'drivers' > IDE, EIDE, ATA, PATA
Esc, Esc to exit, 'Yes' I want to save new configuration.
[make][have coffee][make modules]
[sudo make modules_install][sudo depmod -a][sudo make install]

[sudo update-grub]
[sudo reboot]

Phew. Hope that helps someone else avoid all the mistakes I've not mentioned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
A good book, what else can i say? Delivered to time at a reasonable price. If five stars means something special what is the something special. To be honest every order should warrant five stars, but simply to make a point, I proffer four stars. The publishers reputation ... impeccable. The Author.... equally so but what is it you want from the reviewer.I make my choice. pay my money and if I have half a brain, get what I wanted, (although I confess that in a world where the aim of most corporations is to fleece the customer I suppose that is in itself an achievement). There is, however, one real comment to make, and that is that the name of O'Reilly still counts for something.Well done guys, another first class work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2007
This book is an excellent guide to device driver writing under Linux. Stuck with an unsupported printer? Then there's no reason to delay buying this book and rolling your own driver...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Good as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse