Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 30 January 2014
It's a big book :) very informative and approachable unlike the majority of Linux books out there you will not be bored to tears when reading this. Content is plenty and covers a diverse range of topics absolutely ideal if you are new to Linux and want to get hands on.

Please be advised though the book focuses more on the red hat derivatives

A fantastic resource Negus has done a good job! I will be buying future editions

If you want to learn more about administration and setting up securing server related stuff this book is awesome :)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2017
Slowly learning, recommend having a spare computer to learn with, doesn't need to be new either, 3 year old laptops just as good to learn with! Some days feels like a steep learning curve, (well i am over 40! don't work in I.T. just very interested in linux, have been for nearly 20 years since my first purchase of Suse linux.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2013
Whilst concerning Linux you can get everything you want online for free in terms of tutorials, this book does the (almost) impossible and helps people who want to learn Linux in a structured way. Especially when coming from Windows, this book can be a godsend.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2012
This book arrives on time and in good condition. I have not really had the chance to go all through it but, even though it is not the most up to date version, it is going to be an invaluable reference for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2016
Not quite the Linux reference work I was expecting. Specialises in RedHat/Fedora.

Atrocious index means that you are often scanning pages to find essential information which is either scattered around the book or missing. Try finding out how and when to use cron - it is described vaguely in "Troubleshooting Linux" before pointing you at the "man" pages. Cron is ignored in the huge "Starting and Stopping Services" chapter.

Okay for experienced Systems Administrators who are cross-training. Not for new Systems Administrators.
.
.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2016
The book is quite big, but you will enjoy every piece of it! For a newcomer to Linux, it's more than I've imagined. Really helpful, I would pay much more than this for so much info, well ordered and useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2016
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2016
Uni again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2015
Brand New and pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2017
Good seller and good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)