Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
38
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2013
i really looked forward to this volume...i ordered four copies pre-publication, to give to friends and relations, who have been waiting as eagerly as i have...and though i have sent them the copies, i have not covered them with lavish praise...i am disappointed...feels like we are threading water, just waiting...and waiting...i tell myself this is the case with all multi-volumed works...i used to wait for the wheel of time, and i have been waiting, seemingly for a decade, for mr martin, and i am still waiting for heather gladney to finish her series of teot (20 years?), and for p c hodgell, with the kencyrath saga...oh well...waiting again....now for moon..
moon lets us catch up with all the characters, follow their lives for a year or so, plodding along, step by step, getting the scene set for the big confrontations and magic explosions...and then we wait again...i do realize that the fourth act in any drama is the boring bit, that it is hard to lead up to the big denouement, but i wish, how i wish, she had made it more exciting....it feels like moving puppets...you have to read it of course, to follow the story to its logical conclusion...but this is not a volume i will re-read soon....sorry...necessary. but not fun...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Mrs Moon continues her story of Kieri and chums. It's another length of the same story, neither better nor (thankfully) worse.

But ... the series is beginning to show signs of self-indulgence. This takes the form of messing with key world concepts. It is a key world concept, in this series, that magic is highly suspect. Moon has begun to start a process to make magic normal, and we get the usual, very very tired "only bigots can be against magic" trope, borrowed from this world, where bigots use intimidation to force political correctness on the rest of us. I don't enjoy watching that in this world. I certainly don't want to read a fantasy version of the same crap. And it breaks the world's rules to do so. Moon can't change that concept, and still retain credibility. It was possible to do so for the first character, Dorrin, as an exception. But not generally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Seemed to take a long time to get nowhere. I normally love Elizabeth Moon and am a big fan of the Paladin series but there was very little action in 490 pages. It only seemed to set the scenes for the next book and didn't seem to have the excitement of the other books. It jumped from person to person and place to place for no reason. It could have been covered in half the pages and then got onto the battles and challenges that are hinted at in the next book. I now need to wait for the next book for some excitement. The heroic death of a faithful soldier didn't seem to have the impact as in other books. Even the appearance of Dragon was tame compared to the last book.

It was a "nice" book but took me 2 weeks to read - normally would take 2 days - but at least I was socialble for those 2 weeks rather than being in a different world and my family got meals cooked - lucky family !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Admittedly I have followed the Author for many years and will continue to do so. The quality and richness of both storyline and writing is consistent throughout her range of novels but I have to say Really SHINES through on the Paksennarion and Paladins Legacy series. My compliments on a great range of characters and superb story content long may they continue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Looking forward to the next book in the series, the story has many threads and can be a bit confusing at times, but the actual story is a good one. With The Lady of the Elves dead the power now goes into her grandson's hands, best on many sides he must get the Elves and people to work together to battle a coming menace and magery is coming back into the world much to some people's dislike
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Picked up Limits of Power to read on the plane when going on holiday, and it was a very enjoyable read. The only downside being impatience on my part and wanting the book to be longer!

When I say "slow story progress" in the title, in no way do I mean to imply that nothing happens in the book - it keeps a good pace throughout. However, afterwards, you are left with the feeling that the overall story did not progress much.

Would I recommend the book? Definitely! Will I buy the next book as soon as it's available? Yes! Would I like the book to be 3 times as big? Yes (but not at the cost of waiting 3 times as long for the book to be written).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
I have loved the tale of Lyonya, of Kieri but most of all Pasennarrion and the faithful Sgt Matthias Stammel, in this the penultimate book of the series, more questions are raised than answered and both hope, joy and sorrow are found.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
You can see the overall shape of the series taking form more and more clearly. The characters are realised in believable ways that fit existing construction, the writing is beautiful, and we see more and more into the world of Paksenarrion. Unsurprisingly, we learn more about Camwyn, the ancient hero-saint, what Alured is up to. Plus some very interesting developments around the elves of Lyonya!

Can't recommend it enough to anyone who likes fantasy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
The final part of the 'Paladin's Legacy' is as intensely readable as the preceding three offerings. Well done to Elizabeth Moon for creating such a believable fantasy series. It is well worth the money and the effort to hunt it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Ever since the free e-book version of Sheepfarmers Daughter, The series of books have kept me hooked!!
Fast paced easy to read and full of historic references to equipment and tactics. If you haven't read the series, go ahead, its worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse