Buy used:
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Lights Out Vol.1: Mixed By Steve Lawler

4.5 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

Available from these sellers.
1 new from £96.54 5 used from £4.84 1 collectible from £19.00

Amazon's Steve Lawler Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (24 Jun. 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Global Underground
  • ASIN: B0000682WN
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 216,121 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Intro Part 1 - Lights Out feat. Helena Barber
  2. Spanish Tales - Samuel Baranes
  3. Generate - Sam-U-L
  4. Kasso - Ultra Fine
  5. Harlem Shuffle - Frank O Moiraghi & Mr Mike
  6. Dirty Fingernails - Paranoid Jack
  7. Waresong - The Scumfrog
  8. Sunrise - J & S
  9. Andante - Steve Lawler
  10. Electro Track - Swain & Snell
  11. Lets Get It Together (Somebody) - Cevin Fisher
  12. Orgasm - Thick Dick
  13. House Muzik - Angelo Kortez feat. Alan T

Disc: 2

  1. Intro Part 2 - Lights out feat. Vaule
  2. Technological Aspects - Union (Cevin Fisher Beats)
  3. Music Pressure - Daniel Mode
  4. The Light - Pimp (ATT Mix)
  5. Thunder - John Ciafone
  6. I See The Light - Desert (D Ramirez Bitcrusher RMX)
  7. The Crowd Song - Rhythm Gangsta
  8. Photographt - Crossover
  9. Dirty Waltzer - Soul Of Man
  10. In The Underground - Psycho Radio
  11. Brighton Project - Hardon
  12. La Luna - (Dr Kutcho & Wally Lopez Antoine 909 Mix)
  13. Bang The Drum - Noize Gate
  14. Static - Duality
  15. Everyone - Canteen (Maurice & Noble)

Product Description

GU have always managed to do well with their comps, representing both the mainstream and the underground with equal emphasis. This new series on the label, Lights Out is dedicated to bringing in the seedier side of clubland, and who better to start things off in a deep, down and dirty manner than Steve Lawler? With two CDs to play with, Lawler doesn't disappoint, pulling together a plethora of ruffed-down, rubbed-up grooves that manage to conjure up exactly the kind of lascivious atmosphere the title suggests. Tunes by Ultra Fine ("Kasso"), Swain and Snell ("Electro Track"), Thick Dick ("Orgasm"), Pimp's "The Light" and Psycho Radio's "In the Underground" make you want to get out on the dance floor and writhe around seductively. Despite its great content and strong marketing hype though, it isn't really offering anything that isn't already out there. Mix CDs seem to be two a penny these days so GU will need to come up with something a little more daring and different than this to really catch people's attention. --Paul Sullivan

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Before I start off let me say that this CD is not for the faint of heart or lovers of candy coated music, whatever the genre. If you are willing to open your mind and delve down to the darkest crevaces of the human mind, then turn the Lights Out and let Steve Lawler do the dirty work. Pounding bassline after bassline will break every single bone in your body and the best part about Lawler is that he mixes in the background firmly focusing your attention on the vibe that this mix conveys. CD 2 is where all hell enters earth and Lawler can make no mistake as he digs deeper into his crates for records to make you a beat addict. Dark, dirty, relentless, this is what dance music should be all about; about expanding the horizons of the human mind to its lowest depths. Big Ups to Steve Lawler, and yes as someone mentioned earlier you need GOOD SPEAKERS to listen to the basslines. So turn the volume up and turn the Lights Out. PEACE.
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Global Underground are certainly leading the way with their series of mix compilations from the likes of Dave Seaman, Nick Warren, Paul Oakenfold and Sasha. But it is their more experimental compilations that really get you on your feet. The NuBreed mini-series is a perfect example of this, bringing the latest freshest DJing talent to your CD player.
Steve Lawler's NuBreed mix introduced him to the UK crowd, with his distinct deep progressive sound creating a dancefloor shuffle. He is back for more of the same kicking off the Lights Out collection. This disk definitely represents the early hours in clubland. Dark, twisting, melodic basslines. Funky, tribal, driving percussion, and reverberating vocals. The kind of music you feel rather than hear, as you sit with your head in the toilet at 4am.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on 13 Aug. 2002
Format: Audio CD
This has got to be one of the best mix CD's you are liable to hear this year. GU and Steve Lawler have produced a masterpiece. GU set the president for mix CD's all over the world. This has got to be a step further in that direction. The purpose of a GU CD is that it's not just about DJ's playing tunes that people recognise, but about creating a vibe. A slice of what was played or you would expect to hear from such a party. Steve Lawler doesn't disappoint with 2 CD's that just make you want to get on the dance floor. It's dirty, sexy and conjures up the type of atmosphere you would expect from GU and Steve Lawler. Awesome stuff. If mix CD's are two to a penny then this tears the gap oceans apart. If you don't have this, then what are waiting for? Oh and remember when you come on in....Turn the lights out!!!!....
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category