Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
85
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£34.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2017
I really struggled with this, it's a long wordy book that is basically about a river and nothing apart from the river. It's a very detailed account of said river and wasn't what I was expecting at all, it is however another classic off the list!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Great story telling. One of those books that plants pictures in the mind of the reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
Great read if a bit long
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Plainly speaking, luv it ❤️
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
What a lovely story arrived very quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
I was there - you can't say better of an author can you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
The title of this book encouraged me to send for it although I didn't know whether it was going to be interesting for an elderly lady of nearly 86.
Although I have it on Kindle I also sent for the book as I wanted a written record.
I found it thoroughly interesting. Factual, and in some places really funny. The personal experiences related within the book take you back years and yet it is also full of geographical, historical and other data. The author's grasp of human nature was really good too. I could see the old steamboats in my minds eye -0 I wish I could now!! I was completely absorbed with it until I regretfully finished it!!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Lawrence has over-used the philosopher's trick of stating a fact then contradicting it with another fact. Many times in 'Sons and Lovers' his hero believes he hates his mistress, and then describes how much he loves her! Nuff said.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
its ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
nver read it cannot get into it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)