Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2007
The author's intimate knowledge and profound research into the life of this great man is expressed in a most eloquent and simple prose that makes this biography a book very easy to read and absorb.
Highly recommended insight into M Gandhi's entire life and achievements.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2011
Said to be the best biography of Gandhi. I cannot disagree
Usual great Amazon service
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
An outstanding account of one of the greatest leaders of the 20th Century. Louis Fischer brings out the full sweep of world events which were the stage for Gandhi's astounding political achievements. But he also captures the essence of the humble man driven by deeply spiritual convictions, who wanted more than anything for the people of the world to live together in love and peace. Reading this book some 65 years later I was struck by just how much of Gandhi's thinking reflected the key issues for our world in the 21st Century: the desperate need to resolve our conflicts with non-violent means, the difficulty of getting different religious and ethnic communities to live side by side in peace, and teaching people to appreciate a simple life which rejects the materialism which is slowly but surely destroying our planet. Gandhi's insight and spirit is needed more today than ever before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
One of the best biographies I have read to date. It is entertaining throughout and credit must go to Louis Fischer for writing a brilliant book. The book presents Gandhi in all aspects of his life and it is truly inspirational! Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
This book is so so so brilliant - Only God knows why I hadn't read it earlier. Have even ordered copies for friends! An excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
A very perceptive and thorough book on Gandhi's life and work, thoroughly recommendable. It covers how he was as a person as well as his astute ways of peacefully using the spiritual teachings of yogic methods to apply in a practical and everyday manner in the world. His ways would be a boon to be used today, sadly no politician is remotely near his level of thinking as far as I can see. Well worth reading. The book also arrived quickly, and the seller is to be recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
I have read this book many times over the years. I bought my new copy to.replace my old well worn and much loved original.

I am reading my new copy and must recommend
this superbly written book to any student..it is a testament to 'BAPU' and will encourage any person who wishes to follow his ways.
Mahatma Gandhi is a fine example of what can achieved by protest and the use of 'non cooperation' with current world leaders. He was an iconic leader with his work in South Africa and later in his country of origin India..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Haven't started reading this book yet but had a quick look at the preface and it definitely looks good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
somewhat heavy and somewhat biased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
BRIL;LIANT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)