Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
63
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2009
This was an experimental rent from a video shop and but I've had to buy it since, as I go back to it again and again. In contrast to the other reviews I find this movie full of emotion and eroticism, especially from a woman's perspective. It's about a modern young woman's sexual journey and finding the new dimension that love can add to her lust. The scenes of when they are in love are amazing and very intimate. Watching the extras on the DVD makes you realise how the director managed to achieve this and all the credit to him for creating an atmosphere where the acting is such that you really think the two of them are in love. The sex scenes are honest and for me full of charge, the movie captures well the raw emotion of the first few encounters in any relationship. The additional characters are limited but are just perfect. I couldn't think of anything that was out of place here.
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2008
Both other reviews have a point, although I felt the higher review to be fairer. Whatever the movie's failings, it is very powerful and sensual. It was very refreshing to see the sex treated in such a forthright and enjoyable way, and to finally see a film in which the body is a natural and intrinsic part of life, not something to be hidden away or be coy about. All the characters were natural and uninhibited, and the scenes were beautifully shot.
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
This is not for everyone but I totally loved it it was a great love story, with really emotions and I am a really big fan of Eric Balfour.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2008
Strange, hairless creatures have sex in a variety of positions, then mutter dull platitudes about the meaning of life. Goes for existential but ends up as ennui.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2007
With this film being compared to Michael Winterbottom's '9 Songs', and reviewed by Scarlet as "Everything '9 Songs' wanted to be", I must say that I was left disappointed.

With a cast of Eric Balfour and Lauren Lee Smith, I approached this film with an 'arthouse' expectation in mind.

However, I found Balfour to be unconvincing in his role. The characterisation of "sexually adventurous" Leila (Smith) and "impulsive" David (Balfour) to be 'troubled' indeed came across, but something was not quite right.

Smith portrays her character well, and although this film is scripted (I'm lead to believe) unlike '9 Songs', towards the end of the film I was somewhat confused and unsure as to where it was actually heading.

Certainly a film to push the boundaries of the modern era, but only touching on ground that has already been covered by it's predecessors.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
If this is not porn, I do not know what is.
This film is explicit, to say the least. It includes more than a few full-frontal shots of the fella. Basically it is about what used to be called a sex maniac (but female: she cannot get enough of it) who gradually realises that sex can actually be enjoyed between two people in love (remarkable!).
They certainly enjoyed every moment, and if you like watching this sort of thing, so will you.
But kids, do not let mom and pop catch you watching it. And mom and pop, do not let your kids know you watch films like this.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2007
If you can get past the bone rack of a woman and Mr. Shaved Chest Hair, who seriously looks like Jimmy Hill of BBC Match of The Day fame (think Mandrake the magician), then you'll probrably enjoy this. This movie is trying to be more profound that it really is. Face facts, this is not a good porn film and not a good love story because it tries too much to be both. Basically, any movie with voice-over narration you know is in trouble because it means the story needs explanation that pictures and the actors' words cannot convey. Take away the narration and you maybe would have a half-decent fillum as then it would be left more to your own imagination as to why the woman is basically messed up.

"Lie with Me" is the story of a woman, who likes sex, and a man who also likes sex and all the empty emotions that flow around them... that's pretty much it. I couldn't even say that the plot goes downwards since it doesn't go anywhere at all. There is about one thing happening in this film and its sex; there is no intrigue, or none that's worth being intrigued by anyway, except for "will this ever end!" Very long moments could have been cut off the movie and, in the same way, some moments could have benefited from being longer. The main characters are empty, underdeveloped and we can't feel anything for them because they're too busy having sex and that, to me is okay, but not that interesting. As for the secondary characters, they're not even developed at all, there are many of them and they could just as well have not been there; again, not enough of the good or interesting stuff and too much of the boring empty stuff. At least it's not just about the women being naked all the time. In this, the men get equal attention, and that's good.

The director tries to pulls us away from those distractions by giving us some beautiful scenery; such as the bed with white sheets, white pillow cases and white drapes. Come on! Where did they get that--Metaphors R Us? Then, of course, her own parents are in the midst of a separation. Oh, well, that explains everything. At least I get to see the sights of Toronto which is a wonderful city.

"Lie with Me" is unrated of course and if it had it would have been rated NC-17 due to the sex segments. Another reason I can see why critics would voice out "Oooh and Aaah's" is with the male full frontal. Give me a break...rent a porno and save yourself the bother. This was surely one lousy Antonioni film but at least it was better than "9 Song"....Gosh!
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
Very enjoyable film I'm glad they got the happy ending. Watched with my mum who was literally crying throughout the whole film
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
...with minimal plot and a pretentious voice over. The girl is very pretty, the boy less so but fair play to him for baring his all and one star for his nice bum. Could do without seeing the old guy in the buff though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
What an excellent film, I've cried and smiled and truly related to these characters, awesome women and men that is so reflective of the way love really is at times - cannot fault this gorgeous movie x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.49

Need customer service? Click here