Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
49
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£17.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2016
Just oiled some oak cabinets I made from untreated white oak. Really shows the wood grain and darkened the wood slightly giving it an aged look. Dried quite quickly (several hours) but still gave it 24h between coats. Has a slight nutty smell but not unpleasant. As always the tin recommends rubbing down with steel wool between coats, this however is an absolute no go with oak, the steel reacts with the resin in oak and will go black over time or even very quickly (overnight). Never use steel wool on oak, I used a new kitchen sponge scrubber, the yellow and green ones. The green side is quite rough and is enough to smooth the surface between coats. Would recommend this oil (at least for my experience with white oak).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Very fast delivery excellent product just what I wanted. Would recommend to others A****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
I love this stuff as it leaves wood looking more natural and varnish is such a pain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Fantastic product! My kitchen table was looking tired with stains all over, but after applying this oil it looks brand new again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Leaves a lovely stain and easy to apply.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
Just used Tung oil undiluted to finish a solid oak table top that I've sanded down to the bare wood. Brilliant finish even after the first coat, and three more coats to go as recommended which can only improve the result. Bought the oil for finishing a dark wood stairs handrail, but sanded it off after a couple of days because the effect was just too dark, still undecided on a replacement finish as Tung oil is just so good it spoils you for anything else. Be warned: all the reviews give the impression that the shade of your wood will shine through unchanged, which is simply not the case -- it will darken perceptibly, well, mine did. However, what is just brilliant about Tung oil is that it goes on consistently using a simple rag, and nothing like insects etc get stuck in it to ruin your finish! Once you've wiped off the excess after twenty minutes the finish is touch dry and so smooth. It smells OK while unhardened and it won't ruin your clothes and hair-do if you pass by too close while its hardening. Try it and I promise that you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
Can arrived in good time and in good condition. I have used a number of different oils on my beech junckered worktops and Tung oil is my fifth type. I applied the oil following the instructions, they are not precise enough. After the 30 minute waiting period {you can leave it up to one hour especially if you give a generous application) it tells you to 'remove the excess', what it means is that you need to wipe of all the oil until the surface is as dry as you can get it. Have plenty of lint free cloths and follow the instructions for disposal. The oil seeps into the wood and any left on the surface makes the job of preparing for the next coat hard work. The drying period can be up to 48 hours or longer especially if the temperature drops overnight. You should end up with a matt finish with no shiny patches. I phoned the Liberon head office for advice - they were helpful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
it is what it says it is
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
Used pure undiluted oil to seal an oak kitchen worktop and shelves.

Following the advice of the other reviewer, BG, I applied 4 coats but leaving 48 hours instead of 24 hours between coats, also wiping the excess off after 60 minutes instead of 20 minutes.

Yes, this stretches the overall preparation out over a longer period of time. This is massively offset by the fact it does not have the toxic smell of varnish and does not really need any masking tape as an stray oil can just be wiped with kitchen paper a bit like baby oil. So each application of the worktop took 10 minutes tops and most of that was stood looking and admiring it. Then, an hour later came back and wiped down quickly with some old, washed, cotton T-shirts. (My local hardware store advised that lint free cloth is the same as a washed cotton T-shirt, so there is no need to buy an inflated price.)

Another point - the oil is not odourless. Tung oil comes from pressing seeds from the nut of the tung tree. This gives it quite a nutty smell - for me this is a plus.

In summary: requires patience but the actual work is effortless. The end result is a beautiful, durable, waterproof finish.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
This is a fantastic natural product that I would recommended for sealing wooden kitchen surfaces. Initially the product leaves a distinct smell, this does fades in time. However most importantly it is a non toxic oil which is safe to use around food.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)