£9.33
  • RRP: £12.99
  • You Save: £3.66 (28%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Liberation Square has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Liberation Square Hardcover – 18 Apr 2019

4.4 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£9.33
£5.99 £9.24
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this product and stream 90 days of Amazon Music Unlimited for free. E-mail after purchase. Conditions apply. Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • Liberation Square
  • +
  • Machines Like Me
Total price: £22.03
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton


Product details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Michael Joseph (18 April 2019)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0718187091
  • ISBN-13: 978-0718187095
  • Product Dimensions: 16.2 x 3.6 x 24 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 11,293 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

This richly imagined thriller is set in an alternate past . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world (Sunday Mirror)

Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland (David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child)

A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss (William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier)

In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill (Jake Kerridge)

A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant. (Mason Cross, Richard and Judy bestselling author of The Samaritan)

Liberation Square is a superb and intelligent piece of alternate history. By turns gripping, terrifying and trenchant, it is a remarkably assured debut making Rubin's name one to watch out for in the crowded crime landscape (Stav Sherez, Gold Dagger-winning author of The Intrusions)

A brilliantly researched, shockingly plausible thriller set in an alternative Britain (Claire McGowan)

A stunningly plotted debut, that drags you at break-neck-speed through a nightmare alternative world that is eerily realistic. A must read (Angela Clarke)

From the Inside Flap

1952. Soviet troops control British streets

After the disastrous failure of D-Day, Britain is occupied by Nazi Germany, and only rescued by Russian soldiers arriving from the east and Americans from the west. The two superpowers divide the nation between them, a wall running through London like a scar.

On the Soviet side of the wall, Jane Cawson calls into her husband's medical practice, hoping to surprise him. Instead she detects the perfume worn by his former wife, Lorelei, star of propaganda films for the new Marxist regime. Jane rushes to confront them, but soon finds herself caught up in the glamorous actress's death.


Nick is arrested for murder. Desperate to clear his name, Jane must risk the attention of the brutal secret police as she follows a trail of corruption right to the highest levels of the state.

And she might find she never really knew her husband at all.

See all Product description

11 customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

19 April 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
21 April 2019
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
24 April 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
18 April 2019
Format: Kindle Edition
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICE
18 April 2019
Format: Kindle Edition
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse