Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
206
4.3 out of 5 stars
Liar's Poker: From the author of the Big Short (Hodder Great Reads)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 December 2015
Great book as always a very enjoyable read and provides some useful information about banking and history. Would recommend reading barberians at the gate as well as it touches on some of the same characters
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2017
Michael Lewis delivers an insight into Wall Street in the 80s from a first person perspective that is highly entertaining and well written. If you enjoyed The Big Short, you’ll enjoy this too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
It's okayish if you are interested in the atmospehere and events that led to to wealth of few and misery of many. But I really feel like complete book could be condensed to a 100 page read and be much more digestable and fun to read. Wouldn't recommend to someone without some kind of trading knowledge because it's to many of such details that span for pages and pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
This is a compulsory read to understanding how the credit crunch of 2008 started. The antics of the traders at Salomon Bros in the 1980s have a neat relevance to the situation that developed in the late noughties. It strikes me that the packaging up of mortgage debt for trading between banks was allowed to go ahead with the usual arguments about profit, salary and bonus that have been prevalent recently. The fact that it was fundamentally flawed finally comes home to roost in 2008. An excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Great read that made Micael Lewis' career as an author. My boss recommended it as an intro to the industry! (Gladly there was more than an element of sarcasm in his voice)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
came in excellent condition. Book is great, a real quality read. The only thing is that it is very wordy and speaks in depth about market conditions and interest rates etc, so if you dont like or dont understand the financial sector whatsoever you may find it a little "draggy". However for me this book is great..it is laugh out loud funny and goes right in at the deep end when exposing the industry and what went on. Very candid. I have almost finished the book and can i can see myself reading it again without doubt! Well worth it! It is also motivating me!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
I first read the Big Short and this earlier book. Much happened in the financial world after this book which closes in 1987. Much more exciting times came later - the financial meltdowns of 1990 and 2008. I think I did well to read these two books out of sequence and after the 1990 and 2008 crashes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
If you've ever wondered about Wall St / the City; what is it really like from the inside then this is your book!

It is not an academic study but rather the story of one man's experience of what was Wall St and the City of London in the 1980's.

I strongly reccomend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Not Michael Lewis finest but still enjoyable story behind the founder of Netscape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
I recommend his books highly if you're interested in finance circa late 1990's to 2011
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)