Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2008
Daudet's short stories are rightly famous in his native France and I really enjoyed this collection, its a good investment too as it took me months to read, my bedtime treat to wander into a world of cheerfully drunk monks, vengeful mules and the amazing goat of Monsieur Seguin (which is worth tracking down and reading even if you don't bother with the full collection). Fun fables, moral tales, little vignettes of country life in a bygone age and in many ways not dated at all, this is a real treasure. Highly recommended for French improvers, or look for the English translation.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
The book is short and made up of a series of short stories on a connected theme which can be read in any order. The book is a famouse one much loved by the French themselves. But it is also excellent to practice reading french. The language is not too difficult and a dictionary and Google translations will assist no end.
The stories are very good often very funny and moving.
Just think if you have not read a whole book in a foreign language before then reading this little book and you will make you feel a whole lot better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Bought this for my mum who is 93 and remembers learning French from this book at school. She can't remember what she had for lunch today, but details from Daudet's gentle stories -- such as rabbits warming their paws in the moonbeams -- have endured.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
I was looking for an easy summer read and this has proved a good choice. There are occasional tricky bits of vocab. but the text trips along, and the descriptions of the (even then) fast disappearing landscape of 'France profonde' is beautifully evoked.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
Lovely little stories set in Provence in the 19th century. The "preface" is a bit complicated for the French learner but each story is a little gem and the descriptions are amazing. For the advanced student.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
it's a working book for practicing french in our french group. The book was bought at a very good price. Thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
I'm about half way through this work and since I have to keep stopping to look up words in the dictionary, I'm finding it quite slow going. Despite my poor French, the writing is so powerful that one is compelled to continue if only to see what happens next! I would certainly recommend it for A-Level French students. Is there an English translation? I should love to know how closely my translation resembles the original!

I have visited the Moulin. It's near a place called Fontvielle between Avignon and Aix. I'm so glad I bought the book! A really great find!

Sincerely,

Yule
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Excellent read.Amusing well observed commentary on its life and times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Fantastic book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here