Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £3.99

Save £3.00 (43%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Letters from Skye by [Brockmole, Jessica]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Letters from Skye Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 55 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£3.99

Length: 306 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £5.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Kindle Books from 99p
Load up your Kindle library before your next holiday -- browse over 500 Kindle Books on sale from 99p until 31 August, 2016. Shop now

Product Description

Review

"This is an enchanting love story, told in a series of letters … It’s beautifully imagined and blissfully romantic." (The Times)

"This is a gentle love story. Telling it through letters makes the characters more realgiven depth and richness by letters that speak straight from the heart." (The Scotsman)

"A captivating love story that celebrates the power of hope to triumph over time and circumstance." (Vanessa Diffenbaugh, New York Times bestselling author of The Language of Flowers)

"A poignant tale of a stubborn love that bridges the lives and wars of two generations, Letters From Skye gives the reader a story to inhale as well as read, unfolding amid the gripping panorama of a changing world―an absorbing and rewarding saga of loss and discovery." (Kate Alcott, New York Times bestselling author of The Dressmaker)

"A touching story of forbidden wartime romance, spanning two generations and two separate continents." (The Reading Room)

Book Description

A sweeping love story told through letters, spanning two continents and two world wars. For fans of My Dear, I wanted to tell you, The Postmistress and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 762 KB
  • Print Length: 306 pages
  • Publisher: Cornerstone Digital (4 July 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099559129
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099559122
  • ASIN: B00CPR6IN4
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 55 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #87,613 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
Elspeth Dunn is a published poet living on the Isle of Skye, and she receives her first fan letter from Davey Graham, a young man over in Illinois. The form of a letter means that they do not need to worry about appearances or expectations, and so over the course of many letters back and forth, Elspeth and Davey pour out their hopes, dreams and fears – things that they have never told a soul. But as World War I engulfs Europe and Davey becomes involved, Elspeth waits on Skye, anxious for his return and wondering if they’ll ever get a chance to meet…

I became completely swept up in this wonderful novel. The story is written purely through letters and although I initially thought that this might be hard to get into, but it flowed beautifully and with ease and I was soon captivated by the letters between Elspeth and Davey. I really liked that we were able to read the novel in this way, I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know then through their letters and I really felt like I understood everything about them this way – it felt like I knew all their thoughts and feelings and their most personal hopes for life and for each other. The letters touched me on so many levels, I laughed with Elspeth and Davey, I felt for them and I even cried too, I felt SUCH an emotional connection with both of them.

I think the form of letters is definitely one of the strengths of the book, with this Jessica has created a beautiful and meaningful depth to the characters and their personal entwined story together.

The Isle of Skye sounds beautiful, I could really picture it in my mind through the descriptions from the letters, and I found myself wanting to travel there. I must admit that over the course of the book I fell in love with letter writing, and I’m now very keen to start writing letters again.

Letters From Skye is a truly touching and powerful novel that moved me in so many ways. It is captivating, romantic and a true gem of a story. A must read book.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. As soon as I read the blurb, I couldn't wait to delve in and I wasn't disappointed. In epistolary format, the book spans generations from WWI through to WWII. I'm a fan of war novels - I'm not sure why, so this book really appealed to me. I love stories told through the medium of letters. Reading letters feels beautifully voyeuristic and allows real insight into the characters, offering a depth not there in more traditional storytelling. From the first fan letter David sends to young poet Elspeth, through their blossoming friendship, Brockmole manages to perfectly capture their romance. I really like the characters of Elspeth and David, finding myself completely invested in their love story. Where this book really excels however, is with its descriptions which are perfectly written.

This book makes me a little nostalgic for the lost art of letter writing. I would much rather receive a carefully thought out, hand written letter than a typo ridden text any day.

I give Letters from Skye 4/5.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is beautiful, just beautiful. It moved me to tears, the writing is excellent and never once did I skip a page or flip through to see where it was going especially as it's a very unusual format; written in letter form from one character to another. I have been to Skye many times and live close by so could picture the setting perfectly but without that, as the author is so adept in her descriptions of the island, I feel anyone would be able to see the home of "Sue" perfectly. It captured the essence of two lonely souls meeting by chance in such an unsettling period; between the wars and there was almost magic at work with this as I felt as if I was there, with them as they struggled with their long distance relationship, expressing their fears and concerns for loved ones but never doubting their commitment to each other despite the distance between them. Oh I could have continued with this story for another 200 pages, so captivated as I was with it all. I hope this author has plans to write another as I would love to see what she plans for her next adventure. Recommended, highly, it's a grand story to be sure!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This started off quite well & was an ok read with rather a lot of suspension of disbelief required at times. The letters premis was interesting, although it seemed to be written in a "shorthand style" on detail that did very little to enhance the story.
I do think the ending did seem a little rushed & contrived.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Opposites attract. I'm a Belgian novelist who writes very dark, tense and shocking novels on the crossroads between literature and the crime novel. Pegasus Books published "Baudelaire's Revenge" this year in the US. I'm 61 and at the end of my 'career' (not the immediate end, I hope) but I always wanted to write a novel where love conquers in the end, but time and time again my protagonists are destroyed by other emotions - greed, lust,sollipsism etc. - that corrupt their ability to love. Jessica Brockmole has done what I dreamed off: she has written an utterly touching love story bridging the years between WW1 and WW2, evoking the power of hope, illustrating that our deepest feelings do not degrade through time. The fact that Brockmole chose to tell her story in letters add to the emotional force of the tale. The reader connects immediately with the characters. The backdrop of war(s) deepens the lyrical love story. I confess (but keep it secret): now and then tears came into my eyes. Such a heart-warming, gentle saga with characters you want to have close to you. Oh, and before I forget: a vivid rendering of the natural beauty of the Scottisch Island Skye....
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover