Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
Latter End (Miss Silver Series)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 November 2017
really enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 November 2006
'Latter End' is a really great golden era murder mystery, and very similar to Agatha Christie's Miss Marple novels.

The plot is good, the psychology of the characters in explored and there is a wonderfully evil female victim!

This would definitely be well suited to an adaptation for cosy Sunday night TV.

Take it for what it is and enjoy!
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 5 July 2011
It is clear from the very first page of this book that Lois Latter is a character ripe for murder. A medium has warned her to be careful of poison - whether used by her or against her and while she is frightened for a short time she quickly resumes her normal pattern of behaviour - i.e. trying to manipulate everyone around her into giving her what she wants. Jimmy Latter, her husband, approaches Miss Silver when Lois has sudden attacks of sickness and Miss Silver suggests some sensible precautions for them to take.

The household at Latter End is shown to the reader through following Julia - one of Jimmy's step sisters, who does not like Lois at all partly because of her own interest in Antony Latter - Jimmy's cousin. It is soon clear to the reader that the household is like a bomb waiting to go off. Relationships are fraught and subject to many undercurrents. Miss Silver is called in by Jimmy when Lois is found dead of an overdose of morphia. The case is in the capable hands of Frank Abbot and Chief Inspector Lamb. Frank is a long time admirer of Miss Silver though Lamb has some reservations about her.

The way the many strands of the plot are woven together is, as ever, masterly. Means motives and opportunities must be identified and the murderer unmasked. Is it suicide or is it murder? The complex strands of the relationships between the members of the household will keep the reader guessing until close to the end of the story. This is one of Patricia Wentworth's best books in my opinion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 March 2008
Patricia Wentworth (1878-1961) was a very prolific and very competent detective fiction practitioner. A slightly older contemporary of Agatha Christie, she brought out an elderly spinster detective sleuth, Maud Silver, a short time before the latter created Jane Marple. Both writers utilized a common formula: create a character whom everybody hates, have that character murdered in some ingenious way, then follow the investigations to the surpise ending. Dialogue forms most of the content (in order to mask the killer's identity) and most of the clumsy investigative spade work is done by unimaginative members of the police force.

"Latter End", published in 1947, is a typical example. Indeed, it uses the formula in its most basic form, for all the suspects are members of the one household. Miss Silver gets herself installed in the house and thereafter drinks tea, coughs discretely, interviews everyone, knits socks, and watches from her bedroom door at midnight.

These Miss Silver mysteries are immensely readable. You might complain that the final solution and the evidence finally discovered are barely credible, but you must admit you've had many hours of entertainment getting there.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2015
S*** man. I'm not actually sure how many stars to give this. I bought this book along with three other Phyllis Whitney books to go with the 6 other Phyllis Whitney books that I had already bought for my elderly mother. The books themselves are fantastic and deserve 5stars. But the constant review this s***, review that s*** emails I get from Anazon, piss me off. So I give it 2.5. Senile old mother is happy with the books though so maybe upgrade the score.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2008
I have enjoyed most of the Wentworth detective novels and am very pleased to see them begin to be reprinted. This in my opinion is one of the best.Miss Silver is called in to investigate the demise of the very unpleasant Lois Latter. The suspects are centred around the family.
Highly recommened except the annoying Miss Silver "cough" which is mentioned frequently in all the novels!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2013
A good story with endearing characters. Sense of period effective. Miss Silver is an amusing and engaging detective. Enjoyed the mystery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2014
One of her better ones. The plot is well thought out. Satisfying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2014
enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse