Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2004
A useful book to have beside you if you are puzzled by a verb form. It could help you unravel a mystery, should you forget that 'mittam' can be future as well as present subjunctive! There is a sample English verb conjugation (using 'to carry')near the front in case of uncertainty. This will not help with the perfect participle though. The collection of verbs is excellent, including deponents and defectives, as well as impersonal verbs. I recommend it for those studying at A/S level and beyond.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
This book is an excellent publication for those studying or revising Latin verbs. It is a good edition and grammatically extremely useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
A very helpful compilation. I particularly liked the way in which verbs are listed with their compounds. My only reservation is that the pages headed Sample English Verb Conjugation do not make it clear that in English grammar text-booksis the examples listed are not labelled in the same way as their Latin equivalents. This could confuse learners who think that a phrase like "was carrying", for instance, was in described in English grammar as an Imperfect conjugation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
excellenyt book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2003
I'm currently studying A Level Latin and have found this book to be very handy for looking up different verb forms while I am working though my set translations. Although "only" 501 verbs means it doesn't have everything, it has plenty of paradigm examples and a lot of "core" verbs from which others are derived as compounds. So by taking into account verbs formed by the addition of prefixes (and suffixes) like ad-, con- etc. the result is pretty comprehensive. Trouble is, now that I've got the book I've come to rely on it -- Lord help me when it comes to exam time! :-)
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
In comparison with "The Big Gold Book of Latin Verbs. 555 Fully Conjugated Verbs", the book "501 Latin Verbs" gives alternatives in verb conjugation, which is very convenient when you read old Latin texts. For example, I stumpbled across the spelling "siet" (instead of standard "sit") when I was reading Phormio. It took me some time to realise that it was the form of the verb "to be". I had similar problems with other verbs as well, and without "501 Latin Verbs" I had to look them up on the Internet.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I returned to studying higher education Latin after a 7 year break from A Levels.

I have had varying difficulties getting to grips with the grammar, but along with my standard study books, Reading Latin: Text and Reading Latin: Grammar, Vocabulary and Exercises, this has been an invaluable assistant to getting back to grips with the subject matter.

The pages are clear and easily understood and the text is crisp; each verb is fully conjugated in a sensible way and has a page to itself. They also highlight the most essential verbs that you need to get to grips with.

I am a fan of this type of grammar assistant (I used The Big Yellow Book of German Verbs (Book w/CD-ROM): 555 Fully Conjugated Verbs (Big Book of Verbs Series) for my German) and this book certainly didn't disappoint.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
I have other titles in this series which are printed on good quality paper and in two colours (black and blue). This one uses only black ink on what feels like low grade paper (watch out if you use a marker pen as it will "bleed" like blotting paper!) Considering that 501 Latin Verbs costs the same as the other other Barron's language editions, this is extremely disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 3 February 2005
The first year I studied Latin (using an early edition of Wheelock) I used the 201 Latin Verbs text, part of the same educational series as the 501 verbs series from Barrons. This book has more substance than that earlier volume, not merely from the 300 additional verbs, but also from additions to the text's introduction. Richard Prior (not the comedian) took the contributions of Joseph Wohlberg (whose 201 Latin Verbs I also own) and expanded and revised those with his own additions for this text.
This is at heart the most basic of basic books. Each of the numbered pages 1-501 has one verb laid out in all its tenses, voices, moods, persons and numbers. The pages are laid out with Active Voice on the left (the most common voice found in Latin writing), and Passive Voice on the right. The page is broken into Mood - these include Indicative (the most direct form of address), Subjunctive, Imperative, and Infinitive. The verb tenses in each of these subsections is laid out in first, second and third person, singular and plural, in a chart. . The bottom of each page lists the participle forms, forms of verbs used as modifiers. There are also alternative forms of the verb, compound and related words, sample sentences showing context - these are not 'fake' sentences, but give the sources (Cicero, Horace, etc.). Each page has one verb dedicated to it.
As Prior indicates, the series by Barrons has the limit of 501 verbs (an arbitrary but useful number) - but, in fact, since there are patterns for verbs (called conjugations), knowing one is often knowing them all; the exceptions to these rules for the various conjugations are certainly included, as are the strange verbs (sum, esse, to be, which ends up being strange in every language, and many others like eo, ire, to go).
Some verbs are not fully developed - the authors explain that while there are theoretical constructs of verbs, sometimes we have no evidence that such tenses or constructions were ever used, and so these are omitted. Also, there are lots of verbs whose construction parallels each other precisely (many verbs are formed from prefixes being attached, much as languages like German also do); these verbs are parenthetically linked to other, similar verbs.
There is an English-Latin index, and a Latin-English index at the end of the book. These indexes are handy, as is the Verb Form locator at the end. The word selection comes from frequency counts of verbs on Latin exams of the New York State Regents and other College Board entrance and/or placement examinations.
There are few additions here - little grammar, no pronunciation, nothing by way of history. This is simply what it purports to be - a book of verbs. In that, it is very useful, and as I studied Latin beyond the first year, an invaluable aid.
11 Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 April 2010
A very simple and accessible layout, which obviously includes all that the student of Latin needs, whether advanced or beginner. A straightforward typeface, and extremely quick to reference and navigate. No singing or dancing here, just all that is needed in an excellently produced text. As my title suggests, through much use, some pages of my copy are now held together with sellotape. Too many fond/frustrating memories of using this book to replace it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)