Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.79 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: In VERY GOOD general conditon, with some signs of previous ownership. Dispatched daily from the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Last Witchfinder: na Hardcover – 6 Apr 2006

3.5 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews

See all 14 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£7.19 £0.01
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 496 pages
  • Publisher: W&N; First Edition edition (6 April 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0297852582
  • ISBN-13: 978-0297852582
  • Product Dimensions: 16.2 x 4.3 x 24.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,044,655 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

an absolute delight...Seldom does one come across a story that works on so many levels. Not only does it satisfy by being a highly entertaining yarn detailing the picaresque, pillar-to-post adventures of its admirable and highly likeable protagonist, Jennet Stearne, it stands too as a sharply observed post-modernist satire that focuses upon the age-old tensions that both bind and divide us - religion and science... a hugely affable work, and a great pleasure to read. (John Berlyne SFREVU)

the sheer exuberance of the plot and the determination of the protagonist to reach her goal carries the reader along. A thoroughly entertaining novel. (WATERSTONE'S BOOKS QUARTERLY)

..the genius of this book...is that is perfectly captures the prismatic situations of science and theology in the 18th century...Part of the delight of this novel is the richness of the language, the carefully balanced coyness and coquetry of 18th century literarture, and the way in which the Principia Mathematica writes all the world in Newtonian geometry. (Farah Mendlesohn STRANGE HORIZONS)

The Last Witchfinder is cleverly written, with the detail of history providing a rich tapestry into which the fiction is woven, bringing events and chartacters both real and imagined to vivid life...Morrow has written a timely intervention into the dangersof Fundamentalism for the zeitgeist. (Brigid Cherry DREAMWATCH (May 2006))

An intense and dramatic novel set in one of the darkest periods of our country's history. (GOOD BOOK GUIDE)

James Morrow writes in order to tell us things: to admonish us about our coming destruction of the world, or about the battle between reason and superstition...what he is, deep down, is a satirist and moralist...What makes this satirical version of the struggle against fundamentalism so powerful is Morrow's scenes of natural beauty or urban squalor. These have the scent of real wild flowers, the squish of real mud and dung underfoot. (Roz Kaveney INDEPENDENT (11.5.06))

Romp is too small a word for this novel, although the fin and excitement James Morrow delivers inevitably brings it to mind. (Alastair Mabbott THE HERALD (13.5.06))

a dazzling novel about the clash between superstition and science...This is an extravagant, expansive, erudite, energetic feast of information and adventure...I felt bound to read on as if tied to a stake myself. (Jessica Mann SUNDAY TELEGRAPH (14.5.06))

[a] tremendous historical novel...In a book that will appeal to fans of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, James Morrow captures the imagination and excitement of a world long gone. (NEWMARKET JOURNAL and SUFFOLK FREE PRESS)

Inventive, original and downright entertaining with some fantastic fantasy twists, The Last Witchfinder is a book that really does take genre writing in a completely new and highly entertaining direction. (James Whittington THE DARK SIDE)

The Last Witchfinder is a magnificent combination of high entertainment and intellectually demanding story telling. The life and travails of Jennet prove to be compelling; the tale fair gallops along and is packed with incident as well as engaging and intriguing characters. It is a tremendously satisfying read which offers much to be considered long after the book is finished. (Dave M Roberts VECTOR MAGAZINE)

Book Description

A great historical novel following the picaresque adventures of Jennet, daughter of the last Witchfinder of Mercia and East Anglia. Will appeal to fans of Philip Pullman, Restoration, and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 13 June 2007
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Format: Paperback
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2010
Format: Paperback
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: room freshener, shoe deodorizer, small bathroom cabinet, storage cabinet

Look for similar items by category

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?