• RRP: £6.99
  • You Save: £2.45 (35%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Last Wild Trilogy: Th... has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Over 6 Million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Over 6 Million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Last Wild Trilogy: The Last Wild: Book 1 Paperback – 1 Aug 2013

4.7 out of 5 stars 67 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£4.54
£1.73 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£4.54 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


Frequently bought together

  • The Last Wild Trilogy: The Last Wild: Book 1
  • +
  • The Last Wild Trilogy: The Dark Wild: Book 2
  • +
  • The Last Wild Trilogy: The Wild Beyond: Book 3
Total price: £17.52
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



STEAM Toys
Discover Science, technology, arts, engineering and technology toys. Shop Now

Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Age Range: 6 - 11 years
  • Publisher: Quercus Children's Books (1 Aug. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1780878303
  • ISBN-13: 978-1780878300
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.7 x 19.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (67 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 4,009 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

'I haven't read a book this good and interesting since The Hunger Games ... an edge-of-your-seat fast-paced read' Guardian Children's website. (Guardian Children's website)

'An action-packed, dystopian eco-thriller with memorable characters, both animal and human, and a powerful message about the interdependence of man and nature. A promising debut' Daily Mail. (Daily Mail)

'A darkly comic and hugely inventive adventure ... it could be the next big thing' Eoin Colfer. (Eoin Colfer)

'Gripping, original and memorable' Francesca Simon. (Francesca Simon)

'The sequel had better come soon' Observer. (Observer)

'Inventive, with laughs, tears and cliffhangers' Sunday Times. (Sunday Times)

'Thrilling ... Written in a vivid, urgent style, its sense of loss at all the creatures we have lost or are losing may be as critical to the new generation as Tarka the Otter' Times. (Times)

'Splendid stuff' Eva Ibbotson. (Eva Ibbotson)

Book Description

FROM THE WINNER OF THE GUARDIAN CHILDREN'S FICTION PRIZE. A thrilling animal adventure for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Katherine Rundell

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Excellent
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
An original and interesting story. A dystopian future mingles with a celebration of nature and wild creatures. Loved the little wolf with truly teenage attitude and vulnerability. I'm looking forward to the next episode.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I love it! The begging is a bit confusing, but after you get to part 2, it's amazing!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book is very descriptive and it is very interesting - YOU WILL NOT GET BORED 😁 I am 9 and found it a really good read
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Mrs. K. A. Wheatley TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 12 Mar. 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is a really compelling adventure story which I ate up in two days of reading. It tells the story of Kester, the only hope to save the last animals in existence, and his fight against the terrifying FACTO corporation. It blends elements of environmentalism with aspects of a thriller and plenty of humour to lift the darker elements of the story. It's a cracking read for 7-12 year olds.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
As Eoin Colfer says in a quote on the front cover "A hugely inventive adventure". It's a mixture of all the good classic animal adventure stories such as "Watership Down", "Tarka the Otter", "Song of Pentecost" etc mixed together with sci fi elements such as "The Tripods" and the special human cities of glass, but with a new and clever slant and twist. Captain Skuldiss reminds me of a cross between the child catcher in Chitty, Chitty Bang Bang and Spiro from "My Family and other animals", whilst the "General" is like Captain Mainwaring from "Dad's Army". An interesting mix of animal characters who carry the story along as Kester struggles to save them from the red or berry eye which is afflicting all animalkind and the humans believe will kill them. He believes only his dad can save them, but can he?

There's no swearing or extreme violence, no angst ridden issues and modern day problems such as rape, bullying, war etc and yet it's a story of destruction, the potential end of the world as we know it and parallels many environmental issues we face today.
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
100% enjoyable! I got the book on a Sunday evening and had finished it by 6:30pm on Tuesday (whilst going to school in between)
Equally fabulous for both girls and boys - I am definitely going to read it again and will be looking out for future books by this author.
I've given this book five stars because the story is so addictive and fascinating.
Millie 10
Comment 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
First of all, let’s talk about this cover, shall we? This cover is simply fantastic with such contrasting colours that it really grabs your attention. As I read through the book the animals on the cover (both front and back) made more sense along with the beautiful detail of Stag’s eye and the green watch on Kester’s wrist. In short, I love this cover!

This book is highly imaginative and the plot, although slightly complicated, is easy to follow, wonderfully written, and so easy to immerse yourself in. There is an element of dystopia in it too as the world has been plagued with a virus called “Red Eye” which has killed off all but a rare few animals (and the pests which are aptly named “varmints.”). The characters within this world, both animal and human, are fantastic and I found it really easy to grow attached to each of the “good” characters and even easier to dislike the “bad.” I won’t spoil anything for those of you wishing to read this but watch out for Captain Skuldiss! *boo hiss*

Even though this books is 326 pages long, it is by no means a long and drawn out read. The plot is split into six parts (each with it’s own mini-chapter-starter-illustration-thing) and each part has a lot going on to hold your interest. It is hard for me to think that this book would just be suited to younger readers as I, at 23 and 1/2, thoroughly enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading the sequel The Dark Wild. I honestly think that this book would be suited for anyone and everyone!
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews