Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
79
4.1 out of 5 stars
The Last of the Mohicans
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 October 2017
I bought the book as I admire the work of Patrick Prugne and am happy to enjoy his artwork even though I know very little French.However, I thought the book was the same as the previous ones I had bought, that is, it was a graphic novel. As it happens,it's not, but nevertheless was worth buying as it is full of Prugne's artwork, both black and white drawings at the head of every other page of text together with full page or double page colour illustrations.In addition the book is beautifully produced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Great novel. Everyone should have their own copy and read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2016
Excellent service. Good quality book. Would recommend this to others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Great classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
One of the best ive ever read Fennimore is a masterand should be better known than he is good bye
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
It's perfect for preparing my CAE exam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2017
I enjoyed this book. It made me stop and think for a while which is always a good sign. In many ways this novel has a poetic feeling about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 1998
The definitive tale of the American frontier in 1757, Cooper's masterwork captures the essence of this corner of American history. A vivid tale of honour, courage and love set against the backdrop of the French-British war, this book will be read and re-read for as long as people still print books
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
This is the second book in the Leatherstocking Tales which spans an entire life of a single man: Natty Bumpo otherwise known as Deerslayer in the first book, Hawkeye in this one, Pathfinder in the third book and Leatherstocking in the ones to follow, or just Natty. The Deerslayer concentrated on the early years, his early twenties whereas in this book he has become an experienced scout, hunter and is known throughout the colonies as Hawkeye for his exceptional shooting ability with the rifle known as Killdeer, first obtained in the Deerslayer. Natty is now about 35 years old. Suffice it to say, he is now a man of renown. It starts when he is engaged in rescuing the daughters of Colonel Munro from the revengeful Magua who was whipped by Colonel Munro and swore vengence on the children of Munro. It also covers the time of Braddock's defeat after the loss of Fort William Henry. It discusses, in earnest, the decline of the Native American population in the East. It does this through the tale of Uncas the son of Natty's friend Chingachgok. Uncas becomes a kind of symbol of this decline, a brave warrior with great vigour, constitution and heart the story shows that the sun is beginning to set on the native peoples even though they are yet strong and vigorous.

By far the best of the tales I have so far read, having read the first three. It is more dynamic than the other tales and the story moves forward quickly. It is again written in that old style of the 1800's which has its own character and is not unpleasant to read. I enjoyed this book a great deal.

N.B. The Last of the Mohicans is very different from the film of the same name starring Daniel Day Lewis. In fact I would say the story of the original bears very little resemblance to the film.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse