Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
58
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
44
4 star
14
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2000
This book and 'Learning the ropes' mean so much to me. As you will notice I am no writer or scholar. I read 'A Travellers Life' when I picked up on the story of the 'Last Grain Race'. I am no reader either but I could not put the book down. In fact just before the end I started again beacuse I didnot want to finish it! The romance for land lubbers of ships under sail is enhanced by the hard reality of life aboard. Who could climb the main mast - higher than Nelsons Column?. The only hint of the 'other' romance by the way was conjured up by mentioning his mothers friend - a picture in my mind! Sincere thanks to you Eric Newby. Man has sailed and written of it for centuries but I have only read one like yours. It will always mean a lot to me and if I have children I will read it to them - until they know it!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2008
Eric Newby is a renowned travel writer, and this is one of his first and best books. It tells of how in 1938 he signed on as an apprentice deck hand on a large steel square rigger engaged in the Australia - Europe grain trade. It is a fascinating, moving, exciting, funny account of the round trip with all its highs and lows, written with such skill, and passion I just couldn't put it down. You really don't have to be a sailor to enjoy this book, but if you are it's even better. A collector's item.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2002
Being an avid sailor myself, i approached this book with apprehension. However as soon i had finsihed the first chapter than was i drawn into eric's world. This book is as much a tribute to then endurance of man, as it is to the timeless square rigged tall ships and the crew that bravely man them. So engaging is the narrative that often you can taste the salt air and hear the sails fill with wind and feel the water about your ankles, and once again the crew lives. Finally a book you wish would never finish Hilarious, frightening and saddening in turns it's description of day to day life on the last great sailing ships is over all uplifting; i would recommend this book to both land lubbers and sailors alike.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
A first edition in good condition. I was very pleased with the service from this seller. A replacement volume for a copy lent and not returned.

This is the account of Eric Newby's experiences as an apprentice on one of the last 4 masted sailing barques, on a round trip to Australia just before the 2nd World War. It is very well written, and a foretaste of his illustrious travel writing career. It is a direct and vivid link to the harsh world of life on a large working sailing vessel, manned by very few sailors, and passing through some of the most inhospitable seas of the Southern Ocean. It makes today's gap year experiences rather trivial. It is well illustrated by Newby's own photograph, and as a tailpiece carries a sail and rigging plan of his ship, the Moshulu.

I thoroughly recommend it to anyone interested in the sea, sailing vessels, and/or the work of Eric Newby, one of the finest travel writers of his generation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2001
A stunning tale of adventure. Take a bunch of rough youngsters, an old tall ship, wild weather, and a trip from Ireland to Australia and back, throw in a boys gradual mastery of a dying skill (and of himself) and the early display of fine writing skills of the author, lots of humour, technical detail and an absolutely awesome description of a storm in the south sea, and you have an exceptional book, I read all night!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2001
Eric Newby, still in his teens in the early part of 1939, signs on as crew on one of the last great clipper ships making the grain run from Europe to Australia and back. This book chronicles, in hilarious fashion, the adventurous and sometimes perilous journey, from his first climb of the 198 foot mainmast while docked in Belfast, through the Roaring Forties with the giant waves threatening to poop the ship, and so to Australia. Cooped up with a cabin full of Scandinavians united only by their dislike of Englishmen, Mr Newby survives and eventually thrives thanks in no small part, we must conclude, to his sense of humour. Through the standard English modesty about such things, it is easy to appreciate just how difficult Mr Newby had it and how well he rose to the occasion.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
I loved this book. As a latterday follow on to Richard Dana's Two Years Before The Mast, it was wonderful. Telling of his adventures aboard the barque Moshulu, one of the last commercial sailing ships, just before the outbreak of WW2, it was full of incident and wonderful language (in all senses of the word). Sailing a square rigger was (and probably still is) a terrifying thing and the descriptions of going aloft and working the ship are brilliant. So too are his descriptions of his shipmates. It must have been a hard, uncomfortable and dangerous existence and it seems a miracle he survived. I am so glad he did and wrote this memoir of a time now long gone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
From, arguably, the greatest travel writer of the 20th century this is one of Eric Newby's earliest accounts and a joy for anyone with a love of the sea and the beautiful, commercial sailing vessels of an era long past. Every sail change, every 'blow', every daily chore and the character of every one of Newby's new-found shipmates are brought to life in inimitable style with his fastidious observation. At a young age, having never set foot on a ship, he enlists in one of the most dangerous occupations at the time, as a deckhand on board a square-rigger in the least hospitable of environments. Aboard the Moshulu as she circlumnavigates the world, his experience is a totally compelling tale exquisitely told.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
It has been many years since I ready Newby. It has been a delight to rediscover his dry wit and engaging writing style. A piece of history and hard to believe he is talking about a time only sixty odd years ago. Some of his technical descriptions of the ship, it's sails and how they are trimmed may overwhelm non-sailors but the human story is timeless and easily understood. Excellent
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
I have enjoyed re-reading this book, thirty years on from the first time. I was silly enough to lend my hard copy to someone who did not return it. A well written account of life before (and up) the mast (s). The language gets a bit confusing at times, but it only emphasises the problems of multi-national crews working foreign ships!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)