Larry Banks' Soul Family ... has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid UK postcode.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Larry Banks' Soul Family Album CD

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £14.81 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, 8 Oct 2007
£9.48 £20.67
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
12 new from £9.48 2 used from £20.67

Product details

  • Audio CD (8 Oct. 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Kent Soul
  • ASIN: B000UX441I
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 233,581 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Go Now - Bessie Banks
  2. You'd Better Get Hip Girl - Kenny Carter
  3. What Good Am I? - Jaibi
  4. Don't Pull Away - Larry Banks
  5. We Can Do It - The Shaladons
  6. What's One More Lie - Milton Bennett
  7. Doin' The Gittin' Up - The Devonnes
  8. Come On Act Right - The Geminis
  9. My Life Is No Better - The Dynamics
  10. Showdown - The Shaladons
  11. I Can't Stop Laughing - Kenny Carter
  12. Living In The Land Of Heartache - The Cavaliers
  13. Will You Wait - Larry Banks
  14. Don't You Know (I Love You) - The Pleasures
  15. (You Should Have Been A) Doctor - Bessie Banks
  16. Ooh It Hurts Me - Larry Banks
  17. He Moves Me - The Geminis
  18. I Couldn't Build A World (With You On The Outside) - The Devonnes
  19. We Got A Problem - Larry Banks
  20. No Brag Just Fact - The Hesitations
  21. You Don't Know What You're Missing ('Til It's Gone) - The Exciters
  22. Let's Roll Up Our Sleeves - Larry Banks
  23. You Got Me - Jaibi
  24. Lights Out - Kenny Carter

Product description

Product Description

In 1964 Dave Godin was captivated by Bessie Banks´original recording of `Go Now' and was incensed by the Moody Blues´usurping of the song and what he considered an unduly hasty campaign by the British record company to pass their version off as the original and best. To make amends on behalf of the small but eager coterie of UK soul fans, he took a special interest in Bessie and her husband Larry, the composer of the song.

Further delvings into the pair's releases lead to more revelatory record finds and soon Dave was to champion Larry´s releases on Select, Kapp and Spring and his composing and production work with artists such as the Exciters, Kenny Carter and the Geminis. Dave built up a strong friendship with the family and a bank of information on their work. His discovery of Jaibi´s (Larry´s second wife) `Ýou Got Me' on Kapp Records was a personal Deep Soul revelation and he awarded the recording the prestigious last track placing on his first Deep Soul Treasures CD.

The family were well represented throughout all the volumes of Dave Godin's Deep Soul Treasures but their work wasn't restricted to deep soul and he planned a CD project to showcase their other talents. Sadly he became terminally ill but before he died he asked Ace/Kent consultant Ady Croasdell to complete the project. Fortunately Ace has bought many Banks family recordings from GWP Productions (for whom Larry worked in the late 60s). Some prime previously unheard soul songs have emerged from this source and feature here. Other vital and important tracks have been licensed-in from RCA and other smaller labels and Ady has built on Dave's research with extensive interviews.

Apart from deep soul classics there are examples of Larry Banks' northern soul genius in tracks such as `What's One More Lie' by Milton Bennett (co-composer of `Go Now'), the Geminis' storming `He Moves Me', the Devonnes' `Doing The Gittin' Up', and unknown group the Shaladons' classy take on `We Can Do It'.

Of the deep soul tracks the highlights include two previously unissued Kenny Carter beat ballads and his excellent rendition of `Lights Out' plus Jaibi's original intense demo of `You Got Me'.

This CD is part of the occasional Artistry In Soul series.

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

1 March 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
Donald E. Gilliland
5.0 out of 5 starsDeep Soul gems for fans of Dave Godin's series
11 January 2013 - Published on
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?