Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2017
I bought this wanting a copy of the Bible with all the deuterocanonical books in order. But I did not expect to find parts of the canon to be missing. Pages 12 to 46 (Genesis 12-36) are not printed in this volume. As it is a bound volume I fear this may be a problem with the whole print run. Therefore I warn you about this to consider buying another version of this Bible (there are plenty of other Catholic Bible's on Amazon). I personally don't trust this particular publisher. Secondly as an aside a Bible should refer to the calendar as BC and AD when referring to historical dates. CE and BCE are politically correct secular humanist terms that have no place in sacred scripture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2009
Having owned several NRSV bibles over the years- and I have yet to be satisfied that other contemporary translationscan match it- I am delighted by the XL Catholic edition: It ticks all the boxes as far as I'm concerned.
It is not a cumbersome tome.
The font size is very easy on the eyes & makes public reading (including in dimly lit churches) a breeze.
It is ANGLICISED and so avoids little irritations such as ax instead of axe!
It seems well made and robust - although if you like keeping your bible in a bible cover the dimensions of this bible would probably make this very difficult.
I am a "fusspot" when it comes to bibles - but at last Iv'e found an edition that suits! I'd reccomend it to anyone who finds "regular" font sizes a strain at times.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
Very Good Bible and a great size for use as a study Bible or if you have difficulty with small text.
Only thing worth mentioning is the paper is thin (the paper seems strong enough), but the print on other side of page is visible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2010
The New Revised Standard Version is recognised as the most accurate English translation from the original Hebrew and Greek. XL Catholic editions seem to be rare - I could not trace any others. This one provides the reader with legible type making it easy to read. I have obtained copies for friends with poor eyesight and they have been very pleased with it. The price is also very reasonable.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
the bible is very nice but it is spoilt by the pages being so thin, more like tisue paper than pages if you turned over too quick they would rip
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
Bought for husband, good print size, paper a little thin almost tissue but he is using it and so far no rips
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Ideal size font
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
I was looking for the Jerusalem Bible but could not find an apprpriate Large Print one so I bought this for my mother in law. She is very happy with it. Good buy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Nice handy bible, text is a decent size & laid out well. The cover is good and durable and easy to wipe clean if needed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
Easy to read and Easy to use Bible and great value.
Would recommend it for presentation and ease of read due to large print
A must for every household
Some pictures of various sites and of people mentioned in the Bible would have really made it seven star !!!!!
Received ahead of schedule through Amazon
Well done to the publishers and to Amazon for a Bible that is Accurate and Readable
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)