Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now


on 12 December 2010
Since we discovered sunflower for walking holidays for new destinations the first thing to do is checking whether or not one of these valuable guides is available. Last time we stayed in L'isle sur la sorgue in Provence for two wonderful weeks which were filled with several tours (1-5, 7) from the Western Provence guide. As always with sunflower guides, walking times and maps enabled us to select tours according to our condition/time requirements and to stroll without doubts whether we were on the right path or not.
We also use other guidebooks, but it always turns out that it's the Sunflower which we take with us in the majority of cases.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2010
We are regular users of the Sunflower Landscape series of books and this one gives a comprehensive selection of walks especially between Perpignan and Carcassonne. Their walks are easy to follow and are of various lengths for various abilities. On the days you feel lazy there are car tours. However, do not expect their maps to be sufficient, Sunflower would not expect them to be, always take a good walking map and a compass.

In summary highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2013
After using the Sunflower Eastern Provence book last year, it was a no-brainer to get the companion book on Western Provence. 12 interesting driving tours with 50+ walks that are suitable for both your casual stroller and your hardcore hiker, makes this book essential to get the most out of a holiday. It isnt a book for those wanting a relaxing break in the south of France; it is a book for those prepared to get in their car, for those wanting to see and eat at the best places Provence has to offer. Sure you need to put some effort in, get your feet wet on some walks, but the views and experiences this book will bring are secord to none.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2012
This was the best of several guides we took on our ten day holiday in Avignon, Gordes and Roussillon where we wanted to explore villages and go for interesting walks. The book helped us plan where to go and we tried some of the walks, amended to suit ourselves, which were delightful. Like most guide books this one tends to detail the touristy places such as museums and chateaux rather than capturing the atmosphere of the many fascinating villages and beautiful landscapes of the area. The information on the tourist attractions as well as on hotels and restaurants provided no more detail than can be gained easily by searching the internet. It made us doubt whether the author has actually been to some of them in person. Of the many villages we visited, my favorite was Bonnieux, not because of the places you can visit there, but for its unspoilt streets and alleyways and splendid views over the surrounding countryside. We went in late August and although the popular places were busy, they were not as crowded as the book implies. So overall, this is a good book and value for money. It's not brilliant, but I've yet to find a guide book that is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2013
We love these guides, especially as they have walks and car trips too. With car trips you can see more of an area more quickly . Lots of detail of interesting and unusual things to look out for in the countryside and with detail of places to stop for picnics outside with tables and benches. All the information we need and beautifully set out. Would recommend to anyone with a love of the countryside. Very informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2015
We have them for all sorts of destinations. They are an invaluable way of starting to walk as soon as your feet hit the ground. The walks are of all sorts of different levels so you are sure to find one to fit your ability, mood or time available. We have not yet got lost on any of the walks we have tried but have always carried a good map and used a healthy helping of common sense. We have not tried so many of the car tours but those we have tried have been very, very well worth doing and the information about the places you pass through really adds to the enjoyment of the trip
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2012
We really enjoyed these guidebooks on a recent trip to the south of France. They were a refreshing change from the Rough Guides and Lonely Planets of this world, offering a good balance between manageable content (and excursions) and going beyond the obvious attractions. As others have said, it wouldn't be wise to rely on the maps in these books, but provided you have something else with you (be it a proper map or decent satnav) you'll enjoy following some quirky routes around the French countryside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2013
As with all sunflower books this is packed with good walks - both long and short - really does help us get out and see the countryside away from the motorways
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2014
Nice format, seems a good guide. Without having used it "on the ground" I can't say more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here