Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
14
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2010
Jon Boingey was spot on with his review - this really is a pointless book. Brian Smailes recommends using a hybrid bike even though the vast majority of long distance riders will always choose to use a touring bike with drop handlebars. BS also advocates a small backpack which any experienced cyclist will tell you promotes fatigue - much better to use a saddlebag, rack and panniers or a handlebar bag. Brian has filled the book with pointless town plans, tourist information centres, even a picture of a Hereford road sign and rounds off with a fill-in and keep diary record at the end of the book. This guide is naive and badly written - I shall try and send my copy back; it's that bad, I begrudge the author getting anything from me!
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
Dont waste your time on this book , its really not worth buying . It tells you to wear a helmet when cycling , wow , my 3 year old son knows that . Look on the internet or choose a different book
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
This book is idle for you if
1. you are thinking of it and need to know more.
2.you want to pay not too much.
3. it fits in a bag on your bike.
p.s it is the 2nd addition printed in 2009 better than most.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
I found this book a source of info, but you'll need more research before setting off.
I did JO'G-LE this year unsupported and used this book as a start point (although I deviated from his route in Scotland). As stated in other reviews, it is not the total answer to your adventure and the photos are not all relevant. But if it inspires you to do the trip, its worth it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
The book is a starting point, doesnt really tell me more than the obvious but I have been reading some blogs and online experiences. It does cover the fastest or most direct route which I am not after, would prefer some nicer roads than A roads! It is a lot smaller than you would think and with rather large text so not a lot of substance. It is sensible in advice but not useful to me that's all.

You will find my copy on ebay shortly...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
Nothing of any interest in this book. Don't bother. On-line blogs contain far more useful information and they are offered for free.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
I was given this book as a joke, and much of the content is laughable. The author appears to know very little about cycling. The book is written in a patronising style. The first part is mainly a description of what the author did when he cycled the route. The second part contains details of the route, which is almost entirely on busy A roads.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
Good concise information including lots of useful suggestions. Would recommend when looking for route options for cycling between Lands End and John O'Groats.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
Fantastic -I'm doing the Lejog in May this year and have bought or borrowed numerous other books on this subject.
This is the best I've read-and its written in large font that can be easily read whilst on the move.
Terrific
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
A useful read for those who decide to take the challenge of Lands End to John O,Groats could do with being more compact to take on the actual journey
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse