£21.99
FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Lament from Epirus: An Od... has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Lament from Epirus: An Odyssey Into Europe's Oldest Surviving Folk Music Hardcover – Deckle Edge, 29 Jun 2018


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover, Deckle Edge
£21.99
£15.44 £17.42
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • Lament from Epirus: An Odyssey Into Europe's Oldest Surviving Folk Music
  • +
  • Lament in a Deep Style 1929-1931
Total price: £31.03
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company (29 Jun. 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0393248992
  • ISBN-13: 978-0393248999
  • Product Dimensions: 16.8 x 2.8 x 24.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 258,287 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Christopher King is a weird-old-music savant, a gifted collector, engineer, and student of early recordings. He is also a writer, one who has begun to unfold what he knows in essays of increasing excellence. I think of him mainly, though, as a navigator, whose observations I wait for the way sixteenth-century merchants may have waited on sailors' reports from America.--John Jeremiah Sullivan, author of Pulphead

A blithely informative, immensely entertaining, beautifully written discourse on a music tradition, born in an isolated mountain region long before Homer composed his epics, whose echoes can still be heard today all over the world.--Nicholas Gage, author of Eleni

Anyone interested in the power of music--spiritually, culturally, historically, or politically--will find this odyssey to be transformative. By way of an anthropological detective story, Christopher King deftly reveals details and echoing connections I personally never even imagined. Fascinating.--Jim Jarmusch

Christopher King is a formidable scholar and a magnificent writer, but what he does best is listen. No one has taught me more about music.--Amanda Petrusich, author of Do Not Sell at Any Price

Vivid and engaging. ...[E]nthusiasts will find much of interest in this well-researched book.

A fascinating journey led by a passionate guide.

Obsession makes for good books. ... [King's] rapture propels and frequently erupts into the prose of his report on his multifaceted quest ... [he] remains ardent to the point of mania throughout, so infusing us with his passion that even passages on music theory and the crafting of ancient instruments enthrall. This is a trip never to be forgotten.

A potent tale of discovery and loss in the isolated mountain villages of northwestern Greece ... a singularly fascinating musical odyssey.

Enjoy the hypnotic clarity of the landscape--physical, human and musical--that [King] paints. ... [Epirus's] depth and freshness are undeniable, and I thank Mr. King for giving me a sip.

The culmination of King's devotion to the music of this region and its connections to the lost traditions of American folk music... When you put down the book, having read King's rapturous descriptions of the tunes he loves, your own collection will seem suddenly aglow with a curious new power.

From the Inside Flap

In the tradition of Patrick Leigh Fermor and Geoff Dyer, a Grammy-winning producer discovers a powerful and ancient folk music tradition.

In a gramophone shop in Istanbul, renowned record collector Christopher C. King uncovered some of the strangest-and most hypnotic-sounds he had ever heard. The 78s were immensely moving, seeming to tap into a primal well of emotion inaccessible through contemporary music. The songs, King learned, were from Epirus, an area straddling southern Albania and northwestern Greece and boasting a folk tradition extending back to the pre-Homeric era. To hear this music is to hear the past.

Lament from Epirus is an unforgettable journey into a musical obsession, which traces a unique genre back to the roots of song itself. As King hunts for two long-lost virtuosos-one of whom may have committed a murder-he also tells the story of the Roma people who pioneered Epirotic folk music and their descendants who continue the tradition today.

King discovers clues to his most profound questions about the function of music in the history of humanity: What is the relationship between music and language? Why do we organize sound as music? Is music superfluous, a mere form of entertainment, or could it be a tool for survival? King's journey becomes an investigation into song and dance's role as a means of spiritual healing-and what that may reveal about music's evolutionary origins.
15 illustrations

See all Product description

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
Peter Moskos
5.0 out of 5 starscombining the best styles of travelogue
20 June 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsExciting journey into my roots!
29 June 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?