FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Lament: 1 (Books of Faeri... has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Tree Savers
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: A used book that is in good, clean condition. Your item will be picked, packed and posted FREE to you within the UK by Amazon, also eligible for super saver delivery
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Lament: 1 (Books of Faerie) Paperback – 6 Jan 2011

3.9 out of 5 stars 57 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£0.94 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Four for £10 on Sticker & Activity Books
Add four selected titles to your basket and checkout to receive your discount. Shop now
£7.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 6 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

  • Lament: 1 (Books of Faerie)
  • +
  • Sinner
Total price: £15.98
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



On 13 September see an exclusive performance of Matilda The Musical to celebrate Roald Dahl's 100th anniversary with Amazon Tickets
Experience an introduction from the Resident Director, a Q&A session with the cast, and a special memento -- buy tickets

Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic; 1 edition (6 Jan. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 140712031X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1407120317
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 2.3 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (57 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 292,860 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"I just finished an advance copy of LAMENT: THE FAERIE QUEEN'S DECEPTION by debut author Maggie Stiefvater, which is smart, musical, romantic, and reinvents the faerie tradition." -- Cynthia Leitich Smith "Author of TANTALIZE"

About the Author

After a tumultuous past as a history major, calligraphy instructor, wedding musician, technical editor, and equestrian artist, Maggie Stiefvater is now a full-time writer and New York Times bestselling author of the Shiver trilogy, The Scorpio Races, and The Raven Boys. Her debut series, the Books of Faerie, is published by Flux. Maggie lives in the middle of nowhere, Virginia, with her charmingly straight-laced husband, two kids, four neurotic dogs, and a 1973 Camaro named Loki.

Follow her on Twitter at @mstiefvater, and visit her online at www.maggiestiefvater.com. --This text refers to the Library Binding edition.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
"Lament" is a story about a girl called Dee, who, on her sixteenth birthday begins to notice strange things happening in her once normal world. It all starts when she meets a boy called Luke, who she is immediately drawn to, despite his secret intent to kill her.
As the plot continues she realises she is a 'cloverhand', someone who can see faeries, and these faeries aren't the cute fluttery kind who spread love and joy. They're dangerous, and Dee is unfortunate to realise just how deadly they really are.

I really enjoyed this book, I loved it so much I simply could not put it down. I love how Maggie can wrap romance, mystery and danger and come up with the perfect story. I think the characters are very likable, and the plot is as engaging as the faeries are scary. Overall just a fantastic read, right to the ending, which I must say is very sad, yet satisfying. I think that readers who loved "Shiver" and "Linger" should definately read this, and if you haven't read any of Maggie's books then all I have to say is... GO BUY ONE!!

I look forward to her next book "Forever", and any other future books she will brighten my world with!
Comment 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Pyewacket TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 3 Jan. 2010
Format: Paperback
Of the many books about the Fey, Faerie, Sidhe I have read over the years, this has to be up there at the top of my list. The author has researched her material very well indeed which always pleases me as sometimes Celtic mythology gets lost in translation.

To the plot...........Deidre Monaghan is a gifted Harpist and about to enter a prestigious music festival, with her and also performing on the pipes, is her friend James. True to form, before every performance, Deidre's nerves get the better of her and she has to rush to the ladies to throw up. Whilst she is struggling to keep her hair out of her vomit, a hand suddenly appears and holds it back from her face. She has just met Luke Dillon!

They talk for a while and Deirdre who is somewhat of a loner inexplicably finds herself becoming infatuated with this strange boy. He calms her nerves and together they play a duet which transcends anything ever heard by the judges. Oddly though, she keeps finding clover leaves everywhere.........

As Luke comes into her life more and more so do the clover leaves which for some reason frighten or worry Luke. There are dark forces at work and is Luke really who or what he appears to be? Deidre's Grandmother can most certainly see that something is not right and attempts to help her. Will she listen though?

This is a dark, brooding novel full of the cruelties and capricious ways of the Sidhe or Faerie Folk and gradually Deidre and James are drawn into it.

The climax of the book is truly stupendous and not one that I had envisaged but thoroughly enjoyable all the same.

So, if you are like Deidre, a Cloverhand, someone who can see Faeries, beware..........they are not the chubby, angelic little creatures with pretty wings who flit around flowers............they are cruel assassins and care not much for humankind or even their own.
1 Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Sarah (Feeling Fictional) TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 17 Nov. 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm going to start this review by saying that I don't have the best track record when it comes to books about faeries so I wasn't sure if I should read Lament or not. Having said that I am also a massive fan of Maggie Stiefvater, I love her Wolves of Mercy Falls series and I also really enjoyed her recent stand alone book The Scorpio Races. If anyone could convince me I like faeries then I was pretty sure it would be Maggie!

As I expected Lament is beautifully written, I don't think this author will ever write a book that isn't full of wonderful descriptions that transport you to the worlds she has created. I also enjoyed the mythology of her faeries more than I thought I would, these faeries are vicious, cunning and manipulative and staying one step ahead of them isn't going to be easy for our main character Dee. Unfortunately I didn't love the book as much as I've loved Maggie's later releases though. It's by no means a bad book but it didn't capture me the way her others have so although I will still read the sequel Ballad I won't be in a rush to do so.

Dee is a talented musician but she suffers from terrible stage fright whenever she has to perform in front of an audience. I found it easy to relate to her nervousness and I loved how her friend James was so supportive of her. What I didn't like was the romance between her and the mysterious Luke. Even when she finds out that Luke is an assassin who has killed countless victims and that she is his latest target she brushes it under the carpet because she is attracted to him. I wanted her to find out more about why he had done the things he had done before she even considered dating him but that just didn't happen.
Read more ›
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Brida TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 25 Nov. 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Being a lover of fairytales and anything with a hint of magic, LAMENT sounded like the perfect book for me. But, rather than being yet another book about humans and the fey clashing, LAMENT also offers an original take on the genre.

The story is about Deirdre, a sixteen year old who has an amazing musical talent. Her everyday life changes forever when, just before a musical competition, a mysterious man called Luke Dillon comes into her life as if from nowhere.
Instantly she is attracted to him. And he seems to be attracted to her. But as she gets caught up in the whirlwind romance, she soon realises that she cannot deny that there is something strange about Luke, something almost otherworldly.
Even her everyday life seems to be getting stranger, as four-leaf clovers continually turn up wherever she is. And her grandmother gives her an ugly iron ring, whilst insisting that she wear it.
Things begin falling into place when Deirdre discovers that she is a cloverhand - someone who can see faeries. And Luke, her new romance, is a gallowglass; a soulless faerie assassin. On a mission from the Faerie Queen, it seems that his interest in Deirdre may be more sinister than love.

That is a brief synopsis. While there are echoes of other books - WICKED LOVELY by Melissa Marr is one and even the TWILIGHT saga by Stephenie Meyer is another, because of the doomed romance, LAMENT manages to hold its own and create another original voice within the genre. Stiefvater is a very talented writer. There are moments of pure beauty within this novel and the way that she uses music as a backdrop adds yet another element to the story as a whole. There are enough darker moments to make the story interesting, but there are also lighter moments to lift the mood.
So, why only 4 stars?
Read more ›
1 Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback