Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2010
I just got this as an update to my other version. I agree with the previous reviewer that there probably isn't much in between the two editions, but my old book was pretty dog-eared, and there are some nice updates to the new one, including some details around the trail centres in the area. If you are a mountain biker who is used to riding trail centres, by all means use these as a starting point for your riding in the Lakes, but I would also really recommend the trails that are in this book.

The rides are well described, with easy to follow directions. You can also get a very good feel for what the ride will be like from the notes, and also the map. E.g. you can see how much road is involved (usually only country lanes), and get an idea of the amount of climbing / descending you would do from the altitude profile of each route. Altitude is a big indicator in the Lakes, as either way - up or down - can be pretty challenging, especially dependent on the terrain! Yes, you could pick some bridleways on a map and create your own route, but here all the hard work is done for you and you can just get on and enjoy some of the best riding that England has to offer IMHO.

The size of the book is also really handy, and you can just slot it into your Camelbak, or jersey pocket. I sometimes photocopy the map / directions and have that in my pocket with the book in my pack as backup. The great thing is that there are just enough directions, not loads so you struggle to follow.

I have an ambition which is to ride all the routes in this book, starting ASAP!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2016
I find these books extremely hard to follow the map to plot on Trailzilla for transfer to my Garmin. Have no problem whatsoever with the orange Cicerone mountain biking books, would not buy this make of book again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
This is the second edition of this guidebook so there are a few updates, notably the mapping which is now OS rather than Harveys. If you have the first edition it's probably not worth buying again, but if you want a guide to rides in the Lakes this is a good place to start. The rides are good and varied in length and difficulty, spread across a wide geographical area rather than just the honeypots, and are well described. It should be easy to follow all of them - the ones I have tried already worked well. Plus there's now a section on the Whinlatter and Grizedale forest trails if you need info about them as well. Extra notes about other bridleways and connecting rides is very useful if you need to tailor the suggestions further to meet your own needs.

Overall, it's a great book nicely illustrated with inspiring pics which makes you want to ride more - what else do you need from a guide book?
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
A well written book that's easy to follow. The routes are clearly defined on the os maps within. The range and amount of routes is also very good. The size of the book is just right to fit into the side pocket of a rucksack.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2011
Well, I bought this for myself after a friend was getting bored of riding trails in forests - this is about getting OUT THERE into the rest of the real Lake District and exploring new routes. Proof of the pudding - I bought a second copy as present for my friend, so he can inspire me to get out there. Once you've done a few of the routes in this book, you start looking more for other routes of your own making to try.
The routes have good links to put together any sort of ride you want, and they're all in sections from easier to 'killer' routes. Good OS mapping and a route description for each route. If that's not enough there are also top downhill routes, uphill routes and a section on trails.

Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
Some great routes, well planned out and presented. OS maps, pretty easy to follow directions and some great pics. It's not impossible to get lost but this series of books helps a lot.

I like the 10 best descents, 10 best climbs and 10 best cruising lists at the back. A definite inspiration to get out there and ride.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Lot's of quality trails, very well presented and I will be using it frequently.
A must for anyone who mountain bikes around the lakes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
this book is a must hove for anyone who loves exploring new trails on there mountain bikes. . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2016
Good trails but a lot are for more advanced riders
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2017
Excellent books and great quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse