Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
114
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2007
This film has just about everything: great direction by Richard Donner, who also directed The Omen, Superman and Lethal Weapon, beautiful cinematography by Vittorio Storaro and a wonderful cast - Rutger Hauer is perfect as the brave hero, Michelle Pfeiffer is breath-takingly beautiful as Isabeau and Matthew Broderick provides plenty of comic relief. There is a fine music score by Kate Bush's former arranger and producer Andrew Powell and there is romance, action, drama and humour.

This is the type of film which I never get fed up of watching time and time again and I am not ashamed to admit that the ending always brings tears to my eyes. With this DVD version the film can be viewed in its correct widescreen ratio, making the most of the stunning cinematography. This film is often shown on television but usually in a full screen, pan-and-scan version with the closing credits either edited or speeded up thus eliminating much of Andrew Powell's beautiful closing credits music. Therefore it is worth buying this DVD to see this film in it's complete and correct format.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2000
I first saw this movie on video in the late '80s'. I was hooked and immediately bought a copy. The music, scenery and stars combine to make this a favourite. Michelle Pfeiffer looks terrific and Mathew Broderick is ideally cast, in fact it is the best thing he ever did. It does not date and I only hope I can get a DVD copy.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
THE MOVIE

Let's be honest - how can you NOT like LADYHAWKE? It most definitely is one of the best medieval movies ever made.
Directed by Richard Donner who probably is best known for the great LETHAL WEAPON series does a fabulous job: the pacing is just right with plenty of action, while allowing enough time to develop all major characters thoroughly.
Stunningly beautiful cinematography by Vittorio Storaro - this picture was shot in Italy.
Edward Khmara wrote the story and co-wrote the screenplay. He also wrote the screenplay for ENEMY MINE and wrote the story of the TV mini series MERLIN.
Dutch actor Rutger Hauer as the black knight alone is worth seing LADYHAWKE, as he gives one of the best - if not the best - performances of his career, as does gorgeous Michelle Pfeiffer.
Matthew Broderick delivers some comic relief in one of his first starring roles as the thief Gaston.
John Wood as the malicious Bishop of Aquila and Leo McKern as Imperius were also a brilliant and most memorable additions to the generally great cast.
Arguably the movie's score was not to everyone's liking, and whereas a more classical approach presumably would have been more fitting because it is obviously more conventional, I can't help but ask, why? It's not the best of all scores, but it works quite well in the action scenes regardless.
Why LADYHAWKE didn't win the Academy Award for Best Picture is beyond me. It was nominated for two Academy Awards, Best Sound Editing and Best Sound Mixing, but ended up winning neither.

RATING: 10 / 10

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2002 20th Century Fox UK DVD
Feature running time: 116 mins. (uncut)
Rating: PG-13 (MPAA) / PG (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 4.1
Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired, Danish, Norwegean, Finnish, Swedish, Hebrew, Czech, Hungarian, Islandic, Portugues, Polish, Croation, Turkish
Chapters: 15
Extras: Theatrical trailer
Region: 2

Picture: B-
Audio: B
Extras: F
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2000
The first time I saw this in the cinema I came out sayng -wow!. The dialogue is so up to date, the cast are brilliant, the photography awe-inspiring and that sountrack is fantastic. I couldn't wait to buy the video so I could enjoy it over and over again.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
One of the few films where all the main characters do their job superbly.... both as actors and with credibility as a character in a plotline that (I will not discuss so no spoilers)is simply perfect. It is fantasy, It is swords and sorcery, but, it is also more than the sum of it's parts. Anyone who does not like this arguably simplistic but also subtle film with it's humour, pathos, elegantly and nicely understated swashed buckles, It's build-up and perfect conclusion, not to mention one of the most noble horses ridden by a truly "heroic" knight ever seen on film, is probably incapable of feeling and should give up moviegoing....or even life altogether.. OK, if swords and fantasy are not for you, that's fine... but most people I've lent this film, be they serious-minded surgeons and nurses, accountants and horse trainers, artists and craftspeople have said: I don't usually like this kind of.... you can guess the rest! Buy & Watch this film!, it enriches all who do... more than once...Ladyhawke [1985] [DVD]
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A magical fantasy adventure telling the tale of lovers that have been cursed
by the bishop at 'Aquila'
Captain Navare. (Rutger Hauer) becomes a wolf at night, 'Isabeau' a hawk
by day, the lovers destined by the curse never to be together as man and
woman.
The tale starts with young 'Phillipe Gastone' a thief being the first ever to
escape from the prison at the monastery in Aquila, the Bishop orders the
guards to hunt down the escapee, which eventually they do, however young
'Phillipe' is saved by 'Captain Navare' who has returned to the lands to
break he curse the Bishop has placed upon them, to do that he has to kill
the treacherous Bishop.(John Wood)
Young 'Phillipe' eventually works out that the wolf and his new companion
are one of the same, when, helping the injured Hawk by taking it to 'Imperius
for help, he see's the beautiful 'Isabeau'(Michelle Pfeifer)
To complete the quest the cursed couple need the help of 'Phillipe' (Mathew
Broderick) and indeed 'Imperius' (Leo Mckern)
The film, a love story, a fantasy adventure with swords and arrows, a pleasant
film that is family friendly in general, however I would advise caution with
younger viewers.....there are scenes of mainly moderate violence.
Good picture and Sound quality throughout this '1985' movie (121 mins)
English and French audio.....English, French and German sub-titles.
.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
one of our favourite films and when I saw that it had been released on Blu-ray just had to buy it. we played the trailer first and were a bit worried as it was a small picture in the middle of the screen and very grainy but the actual film was great. it is in wide screen and very good quality - what you would expect from Blu-ray
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Ladyhawke has always been one of my favourite movies . The photography is stunning and I really wanted to see what difference the blu ray transfer would make. The picture quality is breathtaking and Rutger Hauer is extremely attractive in blu ray! I would definitely recommend this release to fans of the film, also a very reasonable price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
Fairly standard DVD release. Stupid mistake on the back of the cover stating the disc has "Interactive Menu's", also seems at first as though the movie will not take up the entire screen as the opening to the movie appears to be 16:9 done in 4:3, but the black boarders disappear and the image fills the screen once the movie proper starts.
Would have been nice to have a few extras on the disc (I do not consider a theatrical trailer to be an extra) but the movie is from a time before there was a demand for any additional content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2000
One of Mathew Broderick's best (second only to "War Games") and Michelle Pfeifer's earliest, it is a delightful mix of romance and fantasy. Rutger Hauer provides a solid basis for the fantastic story of two lovers who are cursed to be "always together and forever apart." Broderick's "Mouse" provides a perfect foil for the lovers' intermediary communication and aide upon confrontation of their tormentor.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.