Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
15
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.23


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
I loved the trilogy of The Woman, it was so well written. This book massively disappointed though, not only because of the sloppy writing, but the constant need to point out parts of women's bodies and always mentioning the race of the non-white characters. 'The black man' kept being used to describe one character, we already know he's black, his name would have sufficed.
It's only saving grace was the ending, I like endings that aren't necessarily happy and still leave you with a sense of doom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Prefer Laymon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2001
I'm now starting to get into what I call "Splatter" novels (that's "horror" and "suspense" fiction with excessive violence and gore, not mention a strong sexual content). I've already purchased several books by Jack Ketchum, Edward Lee, and Simon Clark, to name a few. I've also quickly discovered that sometimes too much violence and sex disrupts the flow of the book, while at other times it seems to be just the right amount, moving the story along at a break-necking speed. Such is the case with Jack Ketchum's LADIES' NIGHT. This is a relatively short novel, running at a 167 pages. It's fast paced, tense, and definitely not for the squeamish. The story begins when a tanker truck is involved in a traffic accident in the middle of New York City's West Side. The unknown contents of the truck spills out into the streets, and its cloy, sweet cherry scent spreads throughout the inner city, infecting most of the female population. By nightfall, the women of NYC have become sexually aroused with a powerful blood lust that leads them to want to kill every man in the city. When Tom Braun and his wife notice a beautiful dancer masturbating herself with a broken wine bottle during a roof party at the top of their apartment building, it's the first sign that the night is going to get even stranger. After the party is over and the demented dancer has been subdued by security, Tom decides to visit the local bar for a nightcap. Within a couple of hours, the women in the bar are brutally murdering as many of the men as possible, while Tom and the bartender, Phil, fight their way outside to the street, stepping out of the frying pan and into the fire. The sounds of the night are filled with the screams of dying men and the demonic laughter of vengeful females. Tom realizes that the women in the city have gone totally crazy and that his young son, Andy, may be in danger back at the apartment. It's going to be a battle to the death as he and other men fight their way through the streets in an effort to save Andy...a boy who may already be dead at the hands of his mother. LADIES' NIGHT is one of those fun reads that reminded me of movies like Night of the Living Dead and Halloween. It's popcorn entertainment that thrills and makes you jump in all of the right places. Mr. Ketchum doesn't hold back on the blood and gore in his descriptions of men and women being killed in the streets of New York City; yet, rather than being a turnoff, it actually works for me. There is no in-depth character development here, but who cares? Most of the characters in this novel are going to be dead by the end of it. This is a short roller-coaster ride of death and destruction that's to be enjoyed for its pacing and intensity. I liked LADIES' NIGHT enough that I intend to purchase some of Jack Ketchum's other novels, THE LOST, HIDE & SEEK, OPEN SEASON, and THE GIRL NEXT DOOR. Naturally, this novel isn't for everyone. If you're not into "splatter" fiction, then save your money for something else. If, however, you want to read some dark, violent, sexually oriented fiction that can make you laugh at different times, then give this novel a shot!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
Jack Ketchum is one of my favourite writers. However, Ladies Night was poor. There was no plot; it felt like every big scene was a sequence with no direction. I reached ninety pages before I gave up on it.
Try one of his other books - they are much better. Like Off Season.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
I actually really enjoyed this, not sure whether I should have being a 'lady' but there again I love slasher and zombie films, the gorier the better. This reads just like a B Movies as someone has already mentioned and it scrolls before your eyes as if you are sitting in a late night movie theatre. You weren't particularly drawn to any characters as you aren't given time to get to know anybody so you're not actually 'rooting' for anyone so you are just reading to see how things pan out and to see how more gory it can actually get....I'd go and see the film!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
When a mysterious tanker spills it's load in daytime Manhattan, it's not long before it's sweet, thick, cherry smelling contents are cleaned up.
Unfortunately though, the stuff inside has been made in a laboratory by the military and isn't simply designed just to smell a bit sickly fruity.
And so by evening the damage has been done by the man-made substance, which begins to take effect on 95% of the female population; and soon Manhattan will turn into a true battle of the sexes, as horny, crazed females, irrespective of their age, turn into a horde of murderous hellcats, driven to slaking their lust and kill-crazy intentions on those not affected by the spilt gloop, particularly the men folk..

When it kicks off, womaniser Tom Braun is chatting up some woman in his favourite pick-up bar, but by the time the night is out, he will have fought his way across the city to get back to the wife he's grown bored of and his young son, who has been left at home with her and her rapidly fading motherly instincts...

I enjoyed this a lot, it's a survival horror in the mould of 'Night of the Living Dead' but with tons of visceral violence and the odd occasional rude bit.
It's short and sweet, running at just over 175 pages, with enough madness and hormones to please most fans of gory, survival horror literature - unless of course you deem Charles Platt's 'The Gas' to be too tame! In which case you might want to try something stronger - with a frenzied page turning narrative and occasionally sharp, pulpy wit.
As others have stated the actual plot is quite thin but the merits are to be had in the energy levels and tension, which are ramped right up, so I really enjoyed it.
It's a lot of fun, hopefully at some point, Ketchum will write a follow up, if he hasn't already?

4.25/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
One of the worst books I have ever read, the introduction was without a doubt the best thing about it. But unlike the author I don't think it was the violence which kept it from being published for so long, but the lack of plot. I love extreme horror, enjoy graphic violence but at the same time expect some sort of a story. Here there was none, the book was incredibly dull, besides for the random descriptions of violence there was nothing, very badly written and incredibly boring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
I'd never heard of Jack Ketchum before starting on this book, but based on this novel I'll certainly be reading him again.

Ladies' Night is basically a zombie tale with a surprisingly original twist - all the murderous monsters are female, leaving the men to fend for themselves in a world turned upside-down by violence and savagery. Although it takes a little while to really get going, once it does the pace never lets up, and Ketchum manages to sustain a thrilling tale that's more than just another cliched gore-fest. The characters are well drawn with a surprising depth to them, and there's none of the usual black-and-white morality that is all-too common in the horror genre these days.

Unapologetically brutal and all the better for it, Ladies' Night is an excellent read if you like your horror to stand out from the crowd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Nonsensical drivel with no plot or character development whatsoever. Just mindless brutal killing for the length of the book. God knows how this was ever published. What a crock.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
iT SURPRISED ME SOMETIMES AND HORRIFIED ME SOMETIMES. OVERALL, IT WAS WELL WRITTEN AND A GOOD STORY.
I WOULD RECOMEND, 'LADIES' NIGHT TO ANYONE WHO ENJOYS A BATTLE OF THE SEXES
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£3.48
£3.07

Need customer service? Click here