Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2017
I've absolutely loved this series of books. Each one is a stand alone novel but worked well as a long story across the whole series. The plot develops throughout and is wrapped up right at the end of the series - it's brilliantly written with a perfect blend of intrigue, humour and thrills. The main characters are fabulous and their roles also progress throughout the books. I love espionage stories and this is the best series I have read. I think Bernhard Samson's character is fantastic - a true, typically understated British hero, going about his job despite the restrictions placed on him by the British intelligence establishment.

Well worth a read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Great Book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
London Match is the final book in the first of three trilogies (i.e. the third book out of a set of nine) which Len Deighton wrote featuring flawed MI6 man Bernard Samson.

As with the previous two books in the trilogy set during the Cold War of the 1980s, what keeps the plot going is not a long sequence of new events and shocks, but rather extra pieces of information which make Samson (and the reader) go back and doubt what they thought about previous events. It's a constant niggling away at the same key questions, again and again - and a technique that adds a nice touch of doubt and paranoia as the frequency with which 'settled' questions of who is genuine and who is lying are reopened means you can never quite be sure what the truth is.

London Match rounds off the Game / Set / Match trilogy with all the main plot ends (apparently) resolved. Part of the genius of the sequel trilogy - Hook / Line / Sinker - is the way it manages subsequently to go back over some of the key issues from this first trilogy, reopening them and leaving characters (and the reader) regularly doubting where the truth lies. To set up future books so well whilst still giving readers who stop at this point a satisfying conclusion is rarely done, and Deighton deserves praise for his skill in being an exception.

If you’re looking for a printed version of the book, I rather prefer the 1980s paperback versions with their fruit-based covers for the Game / Set / Match trilogy to the cover artwork of the 21st century reissues. If you like audio books, then once again James Lailey does a cracking job which makes the audio version really enjoyable.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
sorry, haven't got around to reading this yet but I know it will be good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
I'm not usually a fan of spy novels. I recently read the Game, Set & Match trilogy. I got through them all quickly, and thought they were all excellent, I think "London" probably the best. Deighton's writing is absorbing, and although some of the plot twists are a little unrealistic, I was able to overlook this, as the quality of the writing kept me interested. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2016
In summer 2014, Amazon reviewer DriverJohn noted that the pillow talk between protagonist Bernard Sansom and his new young girlfriend (half our hero's age) "seemed wholly out of character", and the "ending is chaotic and out of kilter with the rest of the tale". Spot on, sir; the ending is a ludicrous gunfight at the Berlin Gate Coral, bullets flying everywhere as the author loses the plot after boring us with hundreds of pages of office politics and descriptions of men's wardrobes. Indeed, the other major action sequence, a shoot-out at a London launderette, is also clumsily handled and the more I read of this third and final part of the Game, Set and Match trilogy the more it struck me that LD is a pedestrian writer, a good few fathoms below John le Carre. Here we have hokum by the metric tonne and this novel would have been miles better with a lot fewer pages and more of Pavel Moskvin, a Red with attitude who doesn't pussyfoot around. Like your style, Pavel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Expected it to be good, and it really lives up to that expectation, but then, as somebody who has read the preceding novels in the series, I KNEW it would be good.

Technology, politics, and Geography have all moved on a pace since the Cold War era the storyline portrays, but it doesn't adversely affect what a good read it is. Will be buying the complete triple trilogy, I fancy......
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Len Deighton is a brilliant story teller. London Match did not disappoint. Now reading the next trilogy, Hook, Line and Sinker. Will Bernie Samson, (the principal character), finally get to the bottom of his wife's defection? Who else is involved? Or is the whole thing an elaborate conspiracy by London Central? No doubt all will be revealed in the fullness of time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
It was a delight to read a well constructed novel which built on the previous two in the series to give a well rounded picture of the cold war in the 1980s. Len Deighton is a writer absolutely on top of his subject who can craft a tale, build a credible cast list and tie up every end with a professional flourish.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)