Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 April 2012
this printer was priced at £400 at its intoduction which was way to much as in the world of printers nowdays
400 QUID CAN GET YOU A CANON PHOTO PRINTER!!
but for £100 this is a bargain,quiet and quick,and the photos on photo paper are outstanding in this price range [£100].

The scanner is amazing with a ten megapixel camera ,giving you a review on the printer in a couple of seconds!!
the fax stuff is no good to me so i havent tried it, but setting up with wifi and connecting to my imac was no problem
at all, and registering with lexmark for my extended garentee and smart solutions was easy and now have loads of FREE
applications in my smart solutions.

ANY GRIPES ? well only one i can find up till now is that it wont accept the 105xl black cartridges which are 'cheap' £4.50 and
i have 4 of these from my 805 pro setup, its a bit of a bummer as the 100xl are £20 plus.

I searched online before i bought this and couldn't find a 'bad' review anywhere, only about price (when it was 3 to 400 quid).
For its looks and performance and stunning photos for 100 quid this is a bargain...
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2012
*****UPDATE***** I have now returned this printer, despite trying to get it to work with our Apple mac products, and numerous calls to both Lexmark and Apple, no luck. It is a beautiful unit but end of the day you need something that works! Fantastic service from Amazon as always with the return.

Firstly, coming to write this review I am a little annoyed, I paid £180 just 4 weeks ago for this and now its here at £106 but hey ho thats life.

We bought this to sit with our new 21" iMac, thinking it was a good looking unit they'd work niceley together and the tech reviews were pretty good.

First impressions out of the box is ITS BIG! Didn't realise from the photo's or description just how big it would be, but its still beautiful the touch screen on the front is very sleek, double sided printing is nice in a home printer and the quick scan is exactly that, QUICK!

but rewind a little...setting up the printer was a pain, it connected to the Mac (wirelessly) with ease but then refused to work, i eventually found the right firmware downloads from Lexmarks website and managed to print!, scanning then required more downloads to get that running, email took another 30 minutes to set up. To allow wireless printing from my Ipad and Iphone i had to download the lexmark app, which is ok but wont let you print everything (pdf's attached to emails is a pain).

So now its been running for 2 weeks the verdict...everytime i try to print from the mac it doesnt find the printer so i have to restart it, 50% of the time wireless printing from the iphone doesnt work and after about 30 pages the inks run out (yes i know every printer is sold with "test cartridges" not full ones)

overall not very impressed with the wireless usability but this may be apples fault more than lexmarks, the airprint feature of apple is currently only officially supported by HP, The printer gets 3 stars for poor Mac compatability but overall beautiful and great at scanning and scan to email.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2012
It's a great concept, and the engineering not he device is great. in terms of build quality and also of the interface. However it is totally let down on functionality.

I am unable to reliably send e-mails from the device - more often than not they fail - this means that scan to e-mail is a useless concept.

As a backup to this i thought i'd try and use the 'scan to memory device' option - this works -but only to save a jpg of the image.

So yes it's a fast scanner, but the advertised functionality does not work. My current workflow is to scan as a jpg to the memory card, and then convert that into PDF using Preview (mac user here).

A bit clunky, but it works.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2016
I bought this combo machine for a single purpose: QUICK SCANNING. Indeed, it does scan documents far more quickly than any other I ever tested, with the exeption of a very large, flash-operating Xerox machine (black-and-white only) which I used several years ago.
PROS: very quick, very efficient scanning (you only need to wait for the LEDs to flash, and then you can move to the following page).
Quality of scans is perfectly satisfactory for normal use, including certain laboratory routines (e.g. Western blots). For higher resolution, a dedicated scanner will be required.
CONS: since the scanner is part of a "combo machine", unfortunately a lot of time is wasted in routine steps and controls, even when the user is entirely un-interested in printing etc.
CONCLUSION: it is really a pity that 1) the machine has been discountinued, and even more: >>> 2) no Producer has picked up and developed the "quick flash" idea for a high-productivity scanner, to be set up and sold just as a QUICK SCANNER (only). I would immediately buy a pair or more for our Laboratories!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2013
Generally the product is good when it works. Ink tends to dry out when longer not used. Some problems with the firmware as mentioned already make the Genesis not always fast. I had lots of problems with my MAC and the printer. Lexmark was always very helpful and also changed my printer with no questions asked (this is why 3 starts and not 2). However, today I'd rather buy another brand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2013
Nice unit but just wasted a weekend upgrading to Windows 8 to find that the Genesis is not supported in that version and unlikely to be. Should have checked compatibility first. Now back to windows 7.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2014
A very good printer, with a very small foot print, good for saving space on the desk, but very expensive to run, ink cartridges pricey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here