Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
143
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2013
Having played the Wii U version, I wanted to pick up this version and glad I did! Sure its not as big as the Wii U one but they have done a fantastic job of getting it all on to the 3DS! Great graphics and gameplay.
The loading times are NOT that long and the fog IS NOT that bad either! people have a habit of dramatising everything these days but I am loving this game, and if you have a 3DS, give this game a chance. plus now Ive got 3 of the games, I can get another one free!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this game after a request from my son. I was a little reluctant as it had slightly low review scores, but he was insistent so I treated him. As others have said, it's a bit like Grand Theft Auto, but for kids. The Lego licence is well used and it plays surprisingly well with few control issues, aided by a well implemented camera. As with GTA, the journey is the reward. If you play this game as a straight game, mission to mission, it's not a long game at all. But finding and unlocking everything is part of the fun, and there is plenty to do. Sound and graphics are excellent, with fog and ghosting sensibly used to ensure the game plays fluidly. It's a lot of fun and shows that a GTA 3 style game could be a possibility on the 3DS. Its' failing could be being a little too easy, but given the target audience, I think it's pitched perfectly.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
Yes, you can say that the game is lame, because you can't see very far or the dialoges are mostly text based.
I would like to point out some different facts.

First, the 'fight-system', which is very nice, you can throw your enemies away or you throw them against other eneimes. After some hours of playing the main story it can get a little bit lame, if you just want to make many money and only do one trick.

Secondly, this game is just a lego game and it is very funny, I mostly ran around and searched after the bonus items, like the aliens you can find our, what i prefer, after the pigs which are hidden in every level. To find everything can take several hours, maybe much longer than the main story, but it don't get lame.

The third thing i liked very much is, that you have many, many, many costumes and cars you can unlock (especially my loved car, the donut truck), so you can dress Chase completely like yoi want to (even as a girl in many costumes like the astronaut and the police officer).

The fourth thing is, that every mission is fun to play, okay, it is mostly 'go and rescue', but there are many funny things like dancing squrriels inside of them for me, no missio was boring.

You have to see, that the game itself is very easy, only the races can be a little bit difficult, because you can't push your enemy away, they are driving one way and if you are driving against him, you are the one who is getting pushed.

I don't know how many hours the Wii U version takes to play through, but it can happen that, if you are focussing only on the main story, you only play 4-5 hours to get it through. I needed 13 hours, because I love to take a look at the map and what it hide.

So for me, this game is very nice, the fog gets on your nerve sometimes, but after 2-3 hours of gameplay i got used to it.

You have to see for yourself if you want to spend 30 £ for this game, for me it was totally worth it.

Pro:
Funny scenes (like when you find a pig and ride on it) and missions
Big city (whoch you have to unlock), with many different areas
A nice fight system
The super buildings are nice made, even when you are not building them up right in front off Chase
The mass of costumes and cars you can unlock
You can find many things like aliens or pigs in the map, which you can collect
Super buildings like helicopter lamding pads (you can use them for a quick map change)

Pro/Contra:
Only 5-6 hours of main story, you will need 10+ if you love to take a look at the area around
Very less audio, for me it was not bad

Contra:
The fog which can get on your nerves
The loading times are very long, put for me it is completely okay, you can not compare the 3DS hardware with your i7 PC

So at the end i just want to say, that if you love Lego, you also might like this game. It is very nice and lovely, but the less audio in the story gets o your nerves sometimes.
This is all my opinion, if thing that you all have to built your own opinion about this game.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
With the exception of "LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean", I've always had a good experience of Lego games for the DS/3DS - and I now have most of them. The story was fun and strangely addictive and didn't really take all that long to complete - but the game was only 33% completed with regards to collectibles etc. Finishing the game is still ongoing and still challenging enough that I am still interested - but that may have more to do with the fact that I'm in my 40s rather than a 7 year-old. The open-world experience is fabulous; even within the main story line, if you'd rather take some time to fully explore each area, your quest is 'on hold' without making you feel as though a clock is ticking. As each area gives you a different disguise and abilities, you'll have to return to previous areas to clear disguise-specific challenges, but it's entirely your choice whether you leave it all till the end of the story, or you pop back after every new disguise is unlocked, making this one of the best Lego games I've played. Just a shame that the sequel isn't available on the 3DS too.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
Bought as a gift for someone who has played and loves all of the previous Lego games (Star Wars, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Batman, Indiana Jones). They said this is their favourite out of all of them so if you've played any of the previous Lego games that's probably all you need to know. From what I've seen of it it looks like an open world game where you can drive and walk around and do missions very much like the GTA games. Don't worry if you're a parent looking at a game for your child as this is definitely PG rated unlike the GTA games!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
This game has some technical issues (like foggy places and long loading times) which were expected, since it is not an easy task to put the whole Lego City into a handheld device. Nevertheless, it's so much fun that you will probably forget about those problems throughout the game.

Update: I just had to sell the game and the main reason for that was the huge loading times.It gets pretty annoying.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
This is a fun game to play that has been well thought out. The open world environment suits the LEGO world well. There are various missions to complete but not a great deal of variety in them. A lot of the missions involve fighting enemies in some way or another. The combat however, is fun. It's sort of a watered down combat system from 'Batman: Arkym City'. The different moves your character can pull off are varied and at some points quite humorous.

Not all of the game is voice acted, which is a shame. The voice acting that is there is good. When driving and walking around, vehicles and people suddenly fade-in and appear, meaning you can quite easily bump into them even when focussed. There are times when you need to create an object on which to bounce on to get to another area. The way you have to bounce using the controls is awkward. Some of the loading times can be a little long, however these do not occur all the time. The volume of the game could be louder; I play the game with the volume slider on the 3DS set to maximum. The same is true for me with headphones.

The graphics are very good for a 3DS game. You can travel around the city and also, on missions, go inside buildings. This creates a great sense of depth and scale to the game. On the subject of depth, the 3D effects work well. There are also parts of the game that utilise the built in gyro-sensor in the 3DS. You can however, still use the analogue stick to move around at the same time; this means you don't look foolish whilst playing the game out and about on a bus, for instance.

This game didn't quite reach the four-star rating for me, due to the issues I raised above; however I would still recommend this game.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Ny Gradson says it was -good- but other that, he didn't add much more. It is a game that can be played again and again though, then passed on to the his brother.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
My son has given this game 5 stars,he said they were great graphics and he loves the game.delivery was on time and the product was packed well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
I bought this for my son (11) and he loves it BUT he completed all the assignments in just 5 days which, for a £30 game is ridiculous. Fortunately he's enjoying playing in 'free play' mode for a bit but doubt that will last long.
So be warned - this won't take very long to complete.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)