Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
18
1.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2012
If all you want is to know how to say hello, goodbye and order a coffee - really, not much beyond that - you're better off looking those words/phrases up on Google and making a note of them. For traveller/visitor basics, a phrase book at least needs to include even a brief section on airports/taxis, a simple Greek menu, asking directions to the nearest supermarket/baker, etc. Even at a couple of quid this isn't worth the money/space on your Kindle.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
No more than a handful of introductory phrases. Starts with promise on first few pages with help on pronunciation which is vital in a language as different as Greek. But then drops this helpful essential.
Pages taken up with lists of countries and phrases to pick up dates. Even as a freebee I'm not sure it's worth having.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
i should have gone by other reviews. shame on amazon for selling this rip off. there is no valuable information at all
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
didn't tell me anything that i couldn't have downloaded for free from the web, used it as a recap
but too fee word to be of any real use.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
If you want to be fluent in Greek then this isn't the book for you. If you want, as we did, a few words to help you when greeting people or saying please and thank you etc then this is ideal. Bought it for the Kindle so we could take it with us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
This book (and I say book very loosely) is about as much use as a chocolate fire guard. It has only 5 sections and they are not very informative. Numbers, colours and countries are pretty useless for a holiday phrase book unless you are going to tell someone your age, hair colour or where you are from. The only useful one or two pages were the greetings pages. Don't bother with this. You will probably learn more while you are on holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
This book would have ended up in my rubbish/recycling bin had it been a hard copy! I bought it in the hope that my husband might be tempted to speak more Greek but it is not by any stretch of the imagination a phrase book. Every word is in English written in phonetic "Greek" and some of it isn't accurate. So if I could give no stars I would. Avoid this and books like it, instead go for the Collins Gem Greek phrasebook.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
The book is basically fine but I did find the content very limited. A list of countries in Greek has little value whereas I was hoping for phrases which might commonly be used on a beach or in a taverna and these were lacking from the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
this is the book that shows you should read the reviews before you buy. The sparcity of content is exacerbated by the lack of relevance of a great deal of this Don't waste your money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
This is beyond lazy !! Absolute rubbish. I would not recommend this to anyone. Buy something which is more expensive but at least it will be more useful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse