Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


4.1 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews

Price: £8.99 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 2 Mar 2015
Only 11 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Amazon's Jon Hopkins Store

Frequently bought together

  • +
  • Immunity
Total price: £16.98
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (2 Mar. 2015)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • ASIN: B00RZV9Q3Y
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  Vinyl |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 27,730 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Ben Lukas Boysen - Sleepers Beat Theme (Unreleased track) - Ben Lukas Boysen
  2. Darkstar - Hold Me Down - Darkstar
  3. Holy Other - Yr Love - Holy Other
  4. Teebs - Verbena Tea with Rebekah Raff - Teebs
  5. Nils Frahm - More - Nils Frahm
  6. Songs of Green Pheasant - I Am Daylights - Songs of Green Pheasant
  7. Jonsi & Alex Daniell - In The Sea - Jonsi & Alex Daniell
  8. Evenings - Babe - Evenings
  9. Letherette - After Dawn - Letherette
  10. Jon Hopkins - I Remember (Exclusive Yeasayer cover version) - Jon Hopkins
  11. David Holmes - Hey Maggy - David Holmes
  12. Alela Diane - Lady Divine - Alela Diane
  13. Four Tet - Gillie Amma I Love You - Four Tet
  14. School of Seven Bells - Connjur - School of Seven Bells
  15. Peter Broderick - And It's Alright (Nils Frahm Remix) - Peter Broderick
  16. Health - Before Tigers (Gold Panda Remix) - Health
  17. Last Days - Missing Photos - Last Days
  18. Bibio - Down To The Sound - Bibio
  19. A Winged Victory For The Sullen - Requiem For The Static King 1 - A Winged Victory for the Sullen
  20. Helios - Emancipation - Helios
  21. Rick Holland - I Remember (Exclusive Spoken Word Piece) - Rick Holland

Product description

Product Description

Requiem for a dreamstate. It's possibly somewhere between heaven, hell and high water, down the Thames Delta towards Eden. It may involve techno and a distorted state or simply mates sat listening to music together, drifting on the open sea of their minds. This is Jon Hopkins world, not so much joining the dots as colouring the whole damn picture in.

After releasing his debut album 'Opalescent' at the rookie age of 21 in 1999, he's gone on to work with Brian Eno and David Holmes, produced King Creosote and via Eno, worked on three Coldplay albums. He released the breakthrough album 'Immunity' in 2013, which was nominated for the Mercury Prize.

The story arc with which Hopkins succeeded on 'Immunity' makes its appearance on Late Night Tales too with a perfectly sculpted excursion on this widescreen mix. Opening with the unreleased 'Sleepers Beat Theme' by composer Ben Lukas Boysen, ghostly pianos skip elegantly hither and thither, among rising strings, as on Darkstar's Hold Me Down. Nils Frahm is here, his sonic palette perfect for the job, while labelmate A Winged Victory For The Sullen contribute Requiem For The Static King Part I. Sigur Ros offshoot Jónsi & Alex's heroic Daniell In The Sea sends us forth towards the Baltic with tears streaming.

Beats occasionally appear, as on the Grace Jones-sampling Yr Love by Holy Other or the pair of Black Country acts Bibio and Letherette, whose After Dawn is almost spry in comparison to the minor key symphonies on display here. The perfect contrast to this comes from Alela Diane's wistful Lady Divine or even Four Tets mesmerising Gillie Amma I Love You, with its enchanting kids choir. Exclusive to this release, Jon Hopkins provides a startlingly vulnerable new piano version of Yeasayer's I Remember.

Poet and fellow Brian Eno collaborator (their joint album 'Drums Between The Bells' was released by Warp in 2011) Rick Holland narrates the exclusive spoken word closer 'I Remember', underpinned with additional sound design by Hopkins.

'Putting this album together was a unique opportunity for me to present music that I have been listening to for years, free from the constraints of a club setting or from trying to stick to one genre. I chose tracks not just because they have been important to me but because of how they sit together, putting as much thought into the transitions and overall narrative as I did into the track choices. I mixed by key and by texture more than anything else, using original sound design, pivot notes, and often recording new synth or piano parts to link things together in a way that flows as naturally as possible' - Jon Hopkins, December 2014

CD Mix (includes unmixed tracks via download as mp3/wav)

23 customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 23 reviews

11 May 2016
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
30 September 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
24 November 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
5 January 2016
Format: VinylVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
8 April 2016
Format: VinylVerified Purchase
9 March 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
24 October 2016
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
5 June 2015
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?