Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2006
Good sturdy construction and very clear patterns and illustrations. Probably not for a first-time sock knitter. There is a lot of variety in the patterns. Most take their influences from sock-knitting traditions in various parts of Europe. All the yarns used are of American origin, so you have to find your own local substitutes, though as the guage is shown clearly, this should not be a problem.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
A great book and easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2007
I bought this book about 4 years ago when I was first interested in sock knitting and have regularly dipped back into it. Aside from the gorgeous patterns, there are many good things about this book

(1) Hardback and spiral bound, means that the books stays neat and tidy and sits flat on the table

(2) I love the layout. With every pattern, you have written instructions, charts and a clear photo.

(3) Nancy Bush uses a wide variety of yarns, some American, some European, so being able to find good substitutions is key. She includes a handy yarn guide in the front of the book with weight, recommended needle sizes, meterage and tensions for many, many brands of yarns.

(4) There are a few simpler patterns but all the patterns have some nuances to keep even the advanced knitter interested.

(5) The patterns are easy to memorise. You might want to glance at the instructions every now and then, but you'll probably find that you don't need to.

(6)New (to me) techniques like the vikkel braid in Spey Valley and the nub stitch in Denmark.

It's really important to check the gauge and the sizes provided to ensure a good fit as many of the designs ran a bit snug. Although it's usually easily rectified with larger needles or an additional repeat, it's still a bit depressing to do all that work and to have something not fit.

Every sock knitter needs to have this book in their library. Even if you don't knit the patterns
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 February 2010
The format of this book is great, the designs are great but there is only one size given for each design. So for someone with larger feet - no good at all as all the patterns are for small/average ladies. I will need to spend alot of time working out how to adapt the patterns before the books title would become appropriate to me. The designs are varied but there is not much variation in the construction method used for each sock - i.e. top down with a standard gusset heel. Also I point to note is that the yarns used are not readily available here in the UK -as this is a US published book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
Im new to sock knitting with just 4 months under my belt and was delighted to recieve this book for christmas.

I like the way the author has put so much thought behind each pattern evoking memories of her travels around the world, the inspiration behind this book.

The patterns themselves are lovely with short ones, lace ones, cabled ones, ribbed ones and so on. I love the books spiral bound format which makes following a pattern much easier as your not fighting to hold the pages back. I cant wait to get started on some if the projects in this book! :)

One to add to the shelves of any self respecting Knitter!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
This is a brilliant book with great patterns. Usefully there is a full page picture of each finished sock so you can really follow the pattern visually. The format is great as well for a book you are constantly referring to: laminated hardcover with spiral binding. Nancy Bush is THE name in design and sock knitting - particularly from folk traditions, and in this book it's interesting to read the ideas that have inspired her designs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
Great Book, Great service and postage. I just need to get to grips with the art of sock making!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)