Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 May 2017
Interesting and plausible. A bold and convincing hypothesis. Actually a confirmation of the oldest historical records. It’s a great shame the established leaders in this field won’t investigate this with an open mind rather than dismissing it as speculation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2003
I was recommended this book by a friend who had heard about the ground breaking research of Miss Evans from his University. I have to admit I was a sceptic when I first began, after all Egyptians coming to Britain..what an absurd thought! However, Miss Evans presents the evidence in such a clear and concise manner that, at the end, you truly believe there is a case to answer. From the ancient Egyptian palaces at Thebes, along the amber trade routes of old Europe to the Ferriby boats in Yorkshire, Miss Evans successfully takes you on a journey of true academic proportions.
Unlike other book of a similar ilk, Miss Evans transends a numbers of disciplines, from her obvious archaeological expertise, to the latest DNA testing from Ireland whilst managing not to befuddle the reader with science. Whatever your own beliefs, I thoroughly recommend that every bookshelf should have a copy of Kingdom of the Ark glued to it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2018
This is an entertaining gallop through a hypothesis suggested by a handful of sources and finds. However, the writer's habit of freefalling from a suggestive find, or legendary reference to conclusive proof is disconcerting, and may serve to explain why so many academic institutions turned away her requests for information, rather than any conspiracy to hide the 'truth'. The howlers are also a bad sign. They come quickly. On line two, Sean O'Riordain is identified as a professor at Trinity in Dublin. He wasn't, it was UCD. And God knows where the picture of Glenscota is actually of, but it certainly isn't Glenscota, or Scotia's Glen which the locals term it. And it's astonishingly strange too that, having travelled all that way, the author doesn't seem to have asked one of those locals about the location. They would have told her that the grave actually IS down there by the Fingal Stream. It's a large slab beloved by the locals as the high point of a good walk. It makes you wonder about all the other details in the book. Still, it's an entertaining read, and the basis that there were links between Egypt and Bronze Age Britain is sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2000
Whether or not Meritaten escaped before the end of the Amarna Period (Ancient Egypt) does not affect the importance of this book which provides very strong evidence of Ancient Egyptian emigration to Europe and, eventually, to parts of Britain and Ireland.
The author is described as an Egyptologist but may not have endeared herself to others of her profession. Nevertheless it needs pointing out that academics live by their reputation and if they choose a "blind alley" they are liable to turn a "blind eye" to new evidence which contradicts their theories.
It is entirely plausible that highly placed Ancient Egyptians "saw trouble coming" and escaped. Egyptian boats were found near Hull. Faience in other British locations.
Are they YOUR distant relatives? Are you O blood group or does your DNA correlate with Tutankhamun's? Fascinating reading.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2001
Lorraine Evans gives us a fine view of some very stunning (but hypothetical) events from some 13 centuries before Christ; her development, while clear, has some peculiarities that keep the material more distant than necessary.
An example: Having established that the mythical "Scota" was based on the very historical Meritaten, eldest daughter of Akhenaten, Evans continues to call her Scota. It makes us wonder whether Evans trusts her own research. Nor at any point does Evans evoke what Meritaten's voyage to the British Isles might have meant in cultural or religious terms. If this voyage was real, it would make Meritaten one of the most remarkable royals of the ancient world, far eclipsing Nefertiti and Cleopatra.
That said, the book soars when it gives us just the facts, maam, and Evan masterfully crafts her case so that, even those of us who were a bit hostile to the idea at first, are now convinced that something like Evans' scenario must be true. No small feat.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2010
Being British and having personally developed a system of Egyptian Alchemy healing, I was delighted to learn that there may be evidence for the British being directly descended from, not just any Egyptian Pharaoh, but, Akhenaton himself! Akhenaton being the monotheistic Pharaoh most linked to the roots of Christianity. My work was inspired by an indigenous oral tradition wisdom keeper, called Hakim Awayan, who lived close to the Sphinx until he died in 2008. I think he would have been really fascinated by the subject matter in this book.

I've been most impressed by the arguments presented in this book, opening many other avenues to follow up myself based on correlating Lorraine's hypotheses and Hakim's tutelage. I'd recommend anyone with an interest in Egyptian (particularly Khemitian philosophies which outline the alternative history maintained from the oral traditionalists) or ancient British history, especially pre-Bronze Age, to give this book a read with an open mind! Hakim's major message to me was a strong warning "don't be fooled by history as presented by mainstream historians since the written records will always be biased in favour of the attitudes prevalent at the time they were written. Archeologists also tend to interpret their findings in the light of current understanding." I found it extremely refreshing to find Lorraine willing to start with a clean slate and then see what she could piece together herself, much of which is from data not previously analysed in a meaningful way. Collectively her evidence is pretty compelling and I think yet more corroborative evidence will be uncovered...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2004
Wow!!!! What an amazing read. Do not be put off by the sub-heading as Miss Evans presents a quite remarkable piece of research that will have you questioning all your preconceptions about ancient history. Backed up by the latest archaeological finds and genetic research, it is hard to find fault in this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2003
The idea that the Egyptians got as far as Ireland and the UK is hardly preposterous and in fact, until Lorraine Evans started waxing on about how controversial it was, I didn't realise it was an issue of any description. The book dates from 2000 and yet I have seen documentaries on the subject predating her contentious thesis so to start off with I am not convinced by her constant cry of investigating against the tide of orthodox Egyptology and archaeology. Methinks she doth protest overly.
That said, leaving that aside, I found the development of the theory and supporting evidence to be very unconvincing. Every conclusion appeared to be based on "might" and "if this were such a case, then that might be true, in which case, we can possibly draw that conclusion". Leading to a case of "not proven" in my opinion. Nowhere in the book did I find any convincing arguments for the thesis of the book. Herein, possibly, lies the lack of universal support for Evans' idea.
I don't want to exclude the idea as being impossibl; merely that the evidence for such a migration is nowhere near sufficient for a conviction. I found it difficult to jump to the conclusion immediately that because Glenscota is called Glenscota, Scota has to be buried there in view of the fact that we haven't gotten as far as proving she turned up in Ireland. In some respects, you could say that Evans falls into the traps a lot of others have in trying to determine where society came from: i.e. indigenous societies in a lot of parts of the world don't appear to have had the right to develop without a massive technological input from some far higher civilisation. Given the mammoth difference between Egyptian civilisation at the time, and the lack of introduction of much of it in the British isles, you'd have to wonder if in fact much of a crew got here...
It's a pity, because with a well written narrative and a more objective use of what little evidence there is, and without the big seller by-line of "are we descended from the ancient Egyptians" and "was British civilisation founded by a fleeing princess" it is possible that this whole idea could have been packaged more convincingly - there was too much protesting at how wrong other researchers must be, it seemed to almost fill pages at times. This is not what I pay money for. I pay money for a logical and complete argument which I found to be lacking on this occasion.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2014
Love this book. I had not read or heard of Lorraine Evans before buying this book, so I had no idea if it would be good. I love her style of writing, she makes Egypt come alive. A lot of books on Egypt are written like encyclopedias, completely lacking in feeling for their history. Lorraine Evans does a brilliant job with this book, really draws you in and you appreciate the hard work she has done to bring you this info. I would def read/buy any other books she has written after this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2004
In the "Kingdom of Ark" Lorraine Evans sets her case with such an ease and elegance that you cannot but congratulate her. Not only does she tell us a wonderful story of an Egyptian Princess that had to flee her country, but she challenges some established beliefs. Particularly worrying in her account is to find out how some of the academic circles were more than sceptic and downright negative towards her attempts to shake some cobwebs off "the historical facts" of the early history of Britain.
Although too often the recorded history has been at the mercy of "winners", isn't it time to view history as our common heritage and thus view all channels of information openly?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)