Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 15 June 2012
I am not much for writing reviews. But this book is well worth making an exception. I am not a boxing aficionado at all. Still I knew Ali was a WC & very popular, loved across countries & continents. Now that I have read this book, I can say I have a fair idea as to why. Needless to say I also have become his fan.

The author has gone into great depth to explain the background of Ali's predecessors especially Floyed P & Liston. At times you may wonder why so. But at the end you realise & agree that Ali can not be understood in isolation. I am in awe. How can a person, hardly educated, have guts & mental werewithal to deal with the society. Ali's self-belief is fantastic.

I view boxing differently now.

I also loved author's writing style. Simple, compelling yet clear. I am sure this is not the last book I read of Mr. Remnick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2016
Book arrived on time and was as described. It is well written and full of facts that followers of Ali will find surprising. A good read and recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2017
Well written book which provides great detail and insight into Muhammad Ali, his early fights and that period in history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2016
An absolute classic. Really sets the scene on the boxing world into which The Greatest emerged. Even more now that Muhammad Ali has passed, this book demonstrates what a unique individual he was. A fascinating read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2016
Great book. Gives an amazing insight into both Liston fights, and provides brilliant background context about both Sonny Liston, Floyd Patterson and the state of boxing itself preceding the emergence of Ali in the early 1960s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2015
Epic book on the history of boxing, sports journalism, and racism in the US
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2016
amazing book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2014
well written, brilliant historically
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2000
Muhammad Ali has always been a hero of mine, but it wasn't until I read this book that I fully realised the various stresses all pulling on the young man. From the racist attitude of the boxing press to the influence of the Nation of Islam, Ali rises above it all with a natural wit and a boxing style and elegance all of his own. David Remnick paints an evocative portrait of the time and gives a keen insight into the internal politics surrounding the fight game, the Black Muslims and the boxing press.
Remnick intersperses the book with well researched pieces covering the social history of boxing and the principal protagonists within the sport. This enhances the appeal of Ali and demonstrates just how he broke the mould when he burst onto the scene. The book also clarifies some of the myths surrounding the man and brings a new understanding to where and what he came from. It allows the reader access to the thought processes of Ali, Louis, Liston and Patterson and leads to a renewed sympathy for some of the great names of the fight game and their subsequent decline in later years.More than anything, the book makes you want to review your old fight videotapes and marvel at the skill of a man who surely was "The Greatest".
I wish Remnick would now complete the tale beyond 1967, I am sure that it would be an immediate bestseller.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse