Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 September 2004
The notion that Freddy King's best work was restricted to the '60's is very shortsighted and this collection proves absolutely otherwise. Much of the material is from his time on Leon Russell's shelter label and the shelter choir are very much in evidence and to good effect, helping to give many tracks the exuberance of live performances. Freddy King's playing throughout is hugely exuberant, too, and if you like rocking good blues there's plenty to bring a smile to your face, and believe me it will. tough at times to avoid getting out the air guitar, too. King was a great guitarist, but was often unfavourably compared to B.B. and Albert and was considered by some to be the least talented of the three kings, he wasn't, he was just different. his tunes rocked a little more than B.B.'s, but his solos were as full of soul as the best of Albert's. i saw him at the crystal palace bowl with Clapton and Larry Coryell in '77 and he was without doubt the most flat out enjoyable guitarist of the three of them. he was relaxed and full of fun, perhaps because he was getting some recognition at last. Much of the material on this double cd is from that period. it's the blues, but the kind that gets rid of the blues. Buy this album and play it loud and you'll be glad you did.
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2016
As always quick and good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2003
This 2 CD includes the majority of Freddie's greatest hits. A must for Blues fans. From the funky 'Woman Across the River' to the excellent acoustic version of 'Dust my Broom'. This compilation shows just why Freddie has been such a great influence on Modern blues - timeless.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
People who know more about FK than I do might say that this is not his best work - in which case I can't wait to hear more, because this is absolutely wonderful. It's up there with the best of the other Kings, BB and Albert, and with the best of any blues artist, for that matter. The guitar playing is awesome, always melodic and downright inspiring; the singing is full throttle; and the songs are fantastic.

This is NOT one of those scratchy old blues records that are easier to appreciate than to enjoy: it's foot-stompin', howlin', sing-alongin', air-guitarin' magic. One of my favourite CDs, full stop.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 May 2011
Freddie King IS the king of the blues. I love this CD!

Now I know it's the blues and so by definition it should be blue, it should make you sad, BUT it sure lifts me. Love it. I only wish I could give it 10 stars!

2 Discs of pure gold bluesishness!!!

Two slight gripes though....

1. Future re-issues might want to consider a photo of the great Mr. King on the cover. Not my favourite watercolour.
2. Some may be offended by a track on the second disc (15). Renaming or deleting from the list may be an idea as it uses the "f" word.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Never mind Elvis, Freddie King rocks and this album is testimony...some superb tracks yet a few quite tame ones. Like most discs I buy, it gets played to death to start with and I get to know the favourites, playing them to death. 'Livin' on the highway' is just the business, nod and a wink to Howlin' Wolf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2004
Freddie King surely is one of the guitar Kings of the Blues but it were not these recordings that made him one. His essential recordings were those for King/Federal in 1960-63. This compilation sees him catering to the country-blues fad of the late 1960s and adds nothing essential to Freddie's work. Still sometimes his great vocals and stunning guitar picks shine through on this royal sham.
77 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Freddie King was a bit of a genius who - like many of his peers - died too young and too soon for the fans . This cd has most of his best stuff and I have almost worn it out on my car cd player .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)