Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12

on 3 May 2014
This is an exceptionally well written first novel by an exciting and intelligent author. It's often said, but I literally couldn't put it down. Fast paced, global in its aspect, thrilling and rammed full of complex interesting characters. It's laced together by strained international relationships, intrigue, dirty dealings, espionage, as well as revealing the underbelly of big business and its close relationship to shady bedfellows holding roles in government.

It's certainly written as a competent homage to other great novels of its genre, but the scale, the three dimensional complexity of characters and detail of scenes really draws you in as a reader, leaving you in no doubt that the writer has really lived the tangled and complex life for themselves. It's a real treat to read and pure escapism into a very different world, beautifully crafted and entirely believable.

4 stars!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2014
A well written fast paced book. I really had to keep alert to pick up the different levels of intrigue. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2014
This has been impossible to put down.....the switches in time and the unremitting pace of the story keeps you panting for the next twist. The characters are very well conceived and the settings made very real by an amazingly well informed author.

Go read it!!

Jon A
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2014
This is a superb start for Wreford. Agent Ai is a fast paced, action-packed thriller taking the reader from the depths of Cambodia to the bars of Moscow and the high-powered business suites of Beijing. Full of menace and suspense, the story follows the exploits of Agent Ai, an undercover agent thrown into a world of international high-tech espionage.

Wreford writes with elegance and style, producing a gripping and well researched page-turner. The dialogue is fantastic, with phrases in Chinese, French and Russian peppering the novel, bringing an authenticity to the characters.

Reminiscent of Ian Flemming and Robert Harris - I'm looking forward to reading more from this author!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2014
A triumph of pace, intrigue and authenticity. Wreford betrays what strikes the reader as an uncanny and genuine depth of understanding and experience of the locations and characters that he presents. More than purely an enticingly plotted espionage thriller, the reader gains a thoroughgoing appreciation In particular for China, the conundrum of clashing ancient and modern paradigms. This is matched equally as the story twists and turns by the grand underlying metaphor with which we are faced as the novel culminates to a tantalising denouement. The flawed yet noble nature of man is laid bare before us: a mirror so pervasive and penetrating in its reflective force.....dare we hold our own gaze?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2015
A page turning novel full of intrigue, double standards, espionage, having to live on the edge and change not only your game plan but your life as well on a daily basis.

The story covers two seperate continents Europe and Asia. The two dominant forces of Russia and China both want a computer programme that controls all the systems in the world. Meet George Quant the new James Bond who has to work out very quickly who he can and cannot trust He is also haunted by what happened in Russia where he had to flee from very quickly.

A novel which will ask questions about the worlds computer system, can one programme control or corrupt them and whoever has that programme will they then control the world. Alongside this we have George who has the programme but who can he trust and give it to.

The intriguing factor about the book is that two different countries with different cultures and beliefs want the same thing and will use whatever methods necessary to achieve that goal. I think the author has created a character who will be in several more escapades, hopefully!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2014
From the moment I started reading, I was hooked! It's not just the storyline and intrigue that kept me going, but the characters, who I felt I could relate to. Quant is imperfect and ultimately very human, unlike a lot of heroes. The fact that Wreford clearly knows what he's on about and has obviously spent time in the places he writes about was a bonus. It's a great read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2014
Wow....what a page turner! I don't normally read this kind of genre but I was given a copy so gave it a go. I couldn't put it down!
There are several things all going on and gradually the links all tie together - very cleverly done.
Hope there's going to be another book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2015
Wry humor transcends journalist turned British agent George Quant's pinball journey through the smoke and mirrors labyrinth of Michael Wreford's "Kill with a borrowed knife: or Agent Ai".

Part Graham Greene's "Our Man in Havana" and "The Third Man", John Le Carré's "The Tailor of Panama" and "The Russia House", with liberal seasonings from James Coburn's "Our Man Flint" and "The President's Analyst" and Dirk Bogarde's "Agent 8 3/4", Agent Ai is bounced, bruised and beaten across Asia in this high stakes game of financial intrigue, computer viruses, power grabbing, greed and corruption.

Just as pinball Agent Ai is going down the tube a deft shake of the machine or last second flipper action caroms him back into play. A thoroughly enjoyable book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2014
Agent Ai takes you on an all boys adventure involving Hong Kong businessmen, washed up journos, and Russian thugs all dealt with in between bouts of whisky drinking accompanied by Phnom Pehn Pickup. Lots of fun, a great holiday read, highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here