Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

More Options
Keystone Bop vol. 2: Friday/Saturday
See larger image (with zoom)

Keystone Bop vol. 2: Friday/Saturday

11 Sept. 2006 | Format: MP3

9.99 (VAT included if applicable)
Buy the CD album for 12.19 and get the MP3 version for FREE. Does not apply to gift orders.
Provided by Amazon EU Srl. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations. Complete your purchase of the CD album to save the MP3 version to your Amazon music library.
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Product details

  • Original Release Date: 1 Jan. 1996
  • Release Date: 11 Sept. 2006
  • Label: Decca (UMO)
  • Copyright: (C) 1996 Fantasy, Inc.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:13:18
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B003VHZPJ0
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 595,882 in Albums (See Top 100 in Albums)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
After a few years dabbling with" fusion ",Freddie Hubbard decided to get back to playing "real" Jazz and what a happy return it turned out to be.In a line-up which included Joe Henderson and Bobby Hutcherson he took the audience at San Fransisco's Keystone Korner by storm on a three night engagement,each night of which produced memorable performances by all three of the front line artists, more than ably supported by a very capable rhythm section. This CD records the musical events of Friday and Saturday nights, but of equal quality is this CD's companion disc recording the events of the Sunday night. Hubbard is in imperious form throughout and is marvellously supported by both Henderson and Hutcherson - what a front line that is!! For lovers of straight-ahead hard blowing Jazz these two CD's are an absolute joy - heartily recommended
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
This cd presents Freddie Hubbard, Joe Henderson and Bobby Hutcherson, plus Freddie's working band on thanksgiving 1981, tearing it up on four lengthy selections. It seems that playing fusion for a decade hadn't weakened any of these musicians acoustic jazz chops, as they return to it with a renewed passion.
From the gentle piano introduction that builds intensity until the theme of One of Another Kind blasts in, you know you're in for a very special treat. Freddie has never sounded better in my opinion. Joe Henderson gets his chance to shine in Round Midnight where he pulls out some tasty licks without ever falling into cliche. Red Clay gives this band a chance to really show off their chops; its the best version I've ever heard. The rhythm section really know how to back the individual soloists, who seem to build on each other's ideas. The beautiful, flowing First Light concludes the disc, with some gorgeous interplay between Freddie and Pianist Billy Childs. Henderson, Larry Klein on bass, and Hutcherson's vibes also get magnificent encouragement from the backing players.
If you're a fan of any of these players, you like 60s Blue Note or modern jazz in general check this out.
1 Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse