Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
43
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2017
Very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2002
right from the moment the punky '2000 light years away' first blasts itself out from your stereo, you know this is gonna be a helluva good album. and, quite frankly, you'd be right! this is an example of 'the' green day sound so many people know and love, it is quite similar to the approach on dookie, and Billie Joe Armstrong (vocals/guitar) Mike Dirnt (bass/vocals) and Tre Cool (drums) keep the punk pure on this record. whether you consider it good or bad, there are no 'time of your life's or 'macys day parade's here. the band were only 19 when they made Kerplunk! and it is amazing how good the music is at such a young age (they had already got one album (1039/smoothed out slappy hours) and a few EPs under their belt).
my personal favourite songs are '2000 light years away', 'one for the razorbacks', 'welcome to paradise' (which was so good they put it on dookie as well), 'private ale', 'one of my lies' and of course the eternally stupid and hilarious country and western-style 'dominated love slave'. not that the other tracks arent excellent.
the last four tracks ('sweet children', 'best thing in town', 'strangeland' and a great cover of the who's 'my generation') were added on to the album at a later date. they were originally recorded several years before and the sound quality is quite poor, but it still shows the even rawer punk than normal that green day started out with. of these, 'my generation' is undoubtedly the best, a great tribute to one of billie joes fave bands, the who.
overall a great album, a must for any green day fan (or any rock fan for that matter)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2007
This Green Day album is a fantastic punk album! I love their new stuff but I love their old stuff just as much too, if not more! The songs on this album are great and great to listen too when you've had a crap day! This is proof why they are the best punk band in the world today (in my opinion)! My generation is a cover but I think Green Day sing it just as good if not better and 200 light years away is a very good tune too, but the album as a whole is fantastic!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2005
Kerplunk! was the final Green Day album i bought, after purchasing all of the others and finding them amazing. Kerplunk! may be an older album, and those who prefer the newer sounds of American Idiot may not find this to their taste. However, those who have heard the earlier albums and love them also, Kerplunk! is one of the best.
Though it is the newest i have bought, it is my favourite, closely followed by Insomniac.
Once you switch on your cd player and hear 2,000 Light Years Away, you just know this album will be amazing. And you're right! Right from the first song to an amazing cover of The Who's 'My Generation' you will be transfixed by the sheer amazing songs on this cd.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2004
Often a disappointment to newer converts of the Warning/Shenanigans style to Green Day, however Kerplunk! is one of the best albums written, a worthy accolade considering their impressive list. As an excellent prelude to Dookie and the following works, anyone with an appreciation of Green Day will enjoy this.
With a list of impressive songs, from 2000 Light Years Away, One for the Razorbacks, through Private Ale, One of My Lies and Who Wrote Holden Cauldfield, this is up there with Green Day's latter works. The headline track is undoubtedly the first version of Welcome to Paradise, whose rawer style even seems to improve upon the Dookie version. The four bonus tracks at the end are also excellent, finishing with a classic cover of The Who's 'My Generation'.
Overall, a superb album, and any fan of Green Day calling themselves that must add it to their collection.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2000
This is Green Day in their Raw Days before they hit the big time with the excellent Dookie. This Album is Top Notch with Welcome to Paradise a personal favourite of mine. There is also the excellent 2000 Light Years Away and No One Knows. Thsi Alkbum seems to have a bit more variety than dookie and is te sound that we have come to know and love fronm Green Day
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2000
Songs like One For The Razorbacks, 2000 Light Years Away and One of My Lies make this one of the best CD's I own! But easily the best track is the almighty, the unbeatable punk-rock genious and complete classic Welcome To Paradise. So good, infact, that they re-recorded it for their next album Dookie! A fantastic piece of work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2002
After the successful release of 2039 Smoothed Out Slappy Hours, Green Day recorded this outstanding album. I've been a green day fan for years, and still this album remains my favorite (closely followed by Insomniac).
Because of Green Day's success rapidly growing, Kerplunk was the last album they recorded on an independent label called Lookout before moving to Reprise where they released the album everyone loves Dookie.
Still, this album goes back to the roots of green day's success, and contains songs that they still play to this day at gigs. 2000 Light Years Away, Christie Road and Dominated Love Slave stand out as some of the best tracks to most people of this album. Welcome To Paradise was re-recorded for Dookie because of its success. But for me, the most brilliant tracks are the lower known ones. Private Ale, No One Knows and Who Wrote Holden Caulfield clearly stand out a superb tracks, but the best track off the album, and probably one of the best Green Day tracks ever, is One Of My Lies. Superb.
If your a Green Day fan, this is a must have. Buy it.
(Also... cool over of The Who's My Generation)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2000
Green day were one of those bands who helped me through those troublesome school days many moons ago....older and wiser now, I have to admit Kerplunk has remained one of my fav albums. Rawer than Dookie, Kerplunk has got some of greendays finest tunes. 2000 light years, welcome to paradise and private ale all without a doubt deserve their position in the greenday hall of fame. You can't go wrong with this album if your feeling a tad moody.......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2005
Kerplunk is one of American pop-punk-rock (whatever you wanna call 'em) Green Day's first albums, and personally,I find it amazing.
Their earlier stuff has been desrcibed as less poppy and more punky, but to a true Green Day fan this won't matter.
For Green Day fans who only have American Idiot, I'd recommend International Superhits! before buying Kerplunk (don't ask me why).
The sound of Kerplunk is less polished than American Idiot, and this works exceedingly well. Billie-Joe's raw vocals go well with the guitar sound, and the whole thing is slightly edgier than later albums.
With tracks like 2000 Light Years Away, Who Wrote Holden Caulfield? and the original version of Welcome To Paradise, Kerplunk is a must-have for fans of Billie-Joe, Mike, and Tre.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)