Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 December 2009
I've had one of these attachments for years and have used it frequently to make smooth tomato sauce; sieve out the seeds from raspberries and blackberries when making fruit sauces; mash potatoes, parsnips or butternut squash; and sieve out the fibres from soups such as fennel or celery which may remain after liquidizing. I simmer frozen peas with stock and pieces of ham and then sieve the lot to remove all the fibres of meat and pea skins leaving a delicious puree. I also use it when making a smooth Meditierranean fish soup. After liquidizing one has a slurry of fish, stock and vegetables and, as a first stage of clearing out all the fibres, I use the colander before finally passing the liquid through a fine-mesh conical sieve. Using the colander first greatly reduces the amount of effort needed with the fine-mesh sieve.

The only negative points are that you have to scrap the under-side of the sieve to get all the material off and the removable sieve can fall out and make a mess. Seeds or compacted food material can get stuck in the holes of the sieve and need to be vigorously brushed with something like a toothbrush or on occasion I have to use a fine metal skewer and poke seeds out manually. The fine sieve is much more useful than the coarse one. Don't be tempted to put the sieves in the dishwasher: it ruins them.

The colander works better with the plastic Kenlyte bowl with handles than the stainless steel bowl with no handles as the circular motion of the blade can cause the colander to rotate too.
This version of the colander only works with the Chef and not the Kenwood Major. I've just bought the latter and had to buy the colander that fits
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
really am so pleased with this sieve. Have a lot of fruit in the garden and it takes the chore out of pureeing gooseberries etc, so we are now getting a deepfreeze full of delicious coulis, fools and ice creams.easy to clean under running water ( so much easier than a conical sieve and wooden spoon!) Wished I had bought one years ago!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
With masses of fruit in the garden, this provides a method of processing it efficiently. I got fed up last year rubbing blackberries and raspberries through a sieve for recipes requiring no pips. This does it in no time at all, with very little waste. Am just about to start using it on apples and plums. Hope it is as good on them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Better than hours with the sieve and wooden spoon , so a winner in my book , here are the 4 more words I had to add !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2009
This attachment works reasonably well, but the contents of the sieve need to be scraped back under the blade from time to time. The blade also takes off the surface of the sieve. Not as time saving as I expected.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Tried sifting flour, spent much more time trying to actually get the flour through the plate and into the bowl manually than if I had used a sieve over a bowl. The blade moved most of the flour but left too much for this to be a worthwhile purchase for me. As for cleaning the blade, complete nightmare, took forever!!!!!
I'll stick to manual sieve and bowl.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Even if you do not use this item frequently, it is an excellent addition to a Kenwod machine and, when required, it saves a great deal of time and energy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Sieve Attachment for my Kenwood Chief works how I expected. Price was very reasonable. Now sieving is easier and faster.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
It is invaluable. I use it for marmalade making, jam making, fools, soups and soufflés. After liquidizing just put the purée through the sieve and it removes all the pips etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Great product. I had previously used a hand mill which did the job but used a lot of elbow grease. This Kenwood sieve really takes the work out of it. Would recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)