Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
48
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2008
Every recipe in this book is simple, clean, authentic and delicious. If you like Thai food you will love this book. The instructions are easy to follow and even a novice can whip up a gastronomic delight. If you can get to a Thai supermarket and get thai basil, kaffir lime leaves and eggplants it makes all the difference.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2009
A brilliant book, excellent recipes, simple to understand and a joy to have next to me in the kitchen. Highly recommended.Simple Thai cookery
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
Excellent clear instructions and the list of ingredients isn't horrendous, though lemon grass and kaffir lime leaves aren't easy to find in my local supermarkets. After a trip to Thailand found the results more authenticate than the old Thai-style cookbook I own.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
My views on Ken Hom are well known at this stage.
If your previous experience of Thai cookery is buying a green curry paste, adding coconut milk, meat and some veg, then this book with take you to the next level. It's full of handy little hints (like adding cinnamon sticks to a Massaman) to give everything that authentic taste.
If you already do a bit of Chinese cooking at home, then making the jump to Thai isn't very difficult either technically or for acquiring new ingredients. Like Chinese cookery once you have invested in a few key cupboard stables then producing tasty authentic food is simple and very economical. Like Chinese cookery, Thai cookery is front loaded: 90% of the work is in the preparation: make sure you have everything ready before you put your wok on the stove.
I recommend this book: it's easy to follow and the results are great.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
As someone who enjoys cooking and a lover of thai food, I was very excited for this book to be delivered. As soon as I flicked through the pages and looked through the recipes and ingredients it seems like a very english version of thai food. It may have been my own mistake for underestimating the word 'simple', however you will not need a single spice for this book and in my opinion, thai food needs spices!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
I bought this book for my husband, who's (was) the kind of man who enters the kitchen only to inform how long it will be before dinner's served...
He loves Thai food and expressed the wish to be able to cook some of the 'elaborate' dishes we tasted while on holiday in Thailand.
I was happy to fulfill this wish.

It's not too hard to find most of the ingredients (had some difficulty with the kaffir lime leaves though), possible and easier to find substitutes are given in the book.
The preparation of all ingredients take most of the time and we don't have a wok so used a cast iron pan instead which worked nearly just as well (poultry and meat take just a little more time to prepare than indicated in the book and you have to take care not to let it get too dry)

I must say we were both very proud when my husband prepared his first dish. Thanks to the easy explanation and photo's it turned out NOT to be a once and only experience !
Now I regularly get treated with home made simple Thai (and Indian and Chinese) dinners - the "real stuff" is still the best but who says you can't experiment with the given recipes...

Conclusion: easy and fun introduction
Oh yes weights and measures are mentioned in grams and ounces and there's a conversion table in the book. A table spoon remains a table spoon in whichever country so don't let that be an excuse for not buying this series.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
As it says in the title simple. Recipes are mostly easy and authentic once you have the ingredients.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
It is the perfect book to make home made Thai food. The ingredients are very easy to find, even in Spain (my location) where there is no much Asian food culture. And then, the food tastes like real Thai. Just love this book and absolutely recommend it!
10 out of 10!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
will not be cooking many of the recipes, and for various reasons, mostly to do with fussy eaters, everyone in the family having an aversion to eating shellfish, and having a vegetarian too, but a handful of recipes have become a regular addition to my repertoire, namely the green and the red Thai curries and the meatballs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
This was bought as a present for someone who like trying different styles of cooking and was well received
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)