Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2001
From its brilliant eye-catching cover to its multitude of rare photographs and fascinating interviews 'Keeping the British End Up' is the alternative history of British cinema we've been patiently waiting for. Sheridan's superb book delves into the bluer side of film-making, explaining how sex movies took their place in British society from 'Nudist Paradise' in 1958 to later hits like 'Confessions of a Window Cleaner' (1974), 'Come Play with Me' (1977) and 'Emmanuelle in Soho' (1981) as well as tonnes of more obscure titles. Anyone heard of 1973's 'Snow White and the Seven Perverts'? Well. it's here! He documents the highs and lows of the industry and has somehow managed to squeeze engaging interviews out of the usually reluctant stars and directors of the era. I especially liked the comprehensive glossary of starlets at the end of the book. Fiona Richmond, Mary Millington, Suzy Mandel and the stunning Sue Longhurst (who incidentally writes the foreword to the book) are all there. Utterly engrossing and un-put-downable!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
... of my favorite cinema review titles, that is! I am from the US, and don't often buy UK books, simply because the increased postage rate makes it an expensive proposition. However from the other reviews here I gathered that it was what I was looking for, and I was not disappointed. Growing up in the US in the late 1960's and '70's, some of my favorite films and TV programs were from the UK, for the simple reason that they offered the best look at women!
The odd thing was one could usually see more violence in US films and TV, but for quite some time one could not see hints of sex or even undress! The films reviewed here are almost all "saucy," and not the more explicit "hardcore" films that came along later. Quite frankly most of these films are not very amusing, as comedies, but can be interesting visually at least. This book is well-illustrated with various photos and poster reproductions that can help one to decide whether a particular title if worth viewing today, now that so many of these films have made their way to DVD. The author does a great job of summing up the film, and includes a bit about the production and actors involved, as well as an overview of the social evolution of "naughty" films in the UK. The author also points out correctly that in the UK at least somewhat equal opportunity was given to male nudity (leading to lots of unfortunate views of Robin Askwith, for example!), whereas in the US even the male backside was rarely shown!

A very entertaining and well-done book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2003
Sheridan knows his native smut.
This well written, beautifully presented and extensively researched guide to all things mucky, represents a secret cultural history of a time many mainstream cinema critics would rather forget.
The attractive cover is worth the price of admission alone.
Nice work Mr Sheridan.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
This has to be the work of a true fa as it covers everything that a reader would require. The text is written in a very informative manner without being "preachy", the pics and advertising material is top notch and the lay out is terrific.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
As this is the Third edition of this book some bits have been altered from before. Some film write ups have been changed slightly which was disappointing, cutting out some description of the plot and adding other information. There is a larger colour picture section though than before and additional films have been added to the main section of the book. The section about events after 1983 has also been brought up to date and the section about people at the end has seen some removed and other new ones added. It is still the best book to get on this subject and very comprehensive. Previous to this books publication the only book about the british sex film industry was the much shorter Doing Rude Things by David McGillivray which is recommended but out of print.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 October 2001
For fans of that endlessly fascinating, unique, genre, the British sex film, this is the book they have been waiting for. Detailing virtually ever film that comes under that banner, the author sheds light on their origins and rates the ones he has seen. In fact it's a shame that he doesn't write more on the background of each picture, and slightly less synopsis. And while many of the stills used to illustrate the book are great, more of them, and more rude ones, would have been a boon. But criticisms aside, this is a terrific piece of work - be glad it was created at all.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2001
Simon Sheridan has done a fabulous job of compiling an irreplaceable archive of British sex film facts, figures, pictures, and reviews, as well as interviews with the genre's handymen and women. A wonderfully readable account of four decades of bare faced cheek that made me laugh out loud. Undoubtedly, the definitive guide to Britons doing rude things at the cinema.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
Just taken delivery of the fourth edition of Keeping the British End Up and I love the bumper new colour pages and the additional film reviews and biographies. Lovingly researched and designed. Author clearly knows and cares about the ins and outs of the subject!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2008
This book is a fantastic read.Well put together listings of films by year ending with a few pages on the 80's straight to video productions.It's an invaluable resource into 70's british sex cinema which you'll read from cover to cover and still come back to for reference again and again when you spot an all to infrequent new dvd release.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
I couldn't help but be attracted by the cover and once inside I was fascinated by all the obviously well researched information. Never realised so many respectable British cinema faces were involved in the industry! I would thoroughly recommend Mr Sheridan's book - he has such an easy to read style of writing and it's a real talking point for any coffee table.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)