Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



VINE VOICEon 3 October 2017
Captain Keane is a bit of a maverick ,but he gets things done and with the Napoleonic wars raging he has plenty to do . Much in the manner of Sharpe he commands a mixed body of men . All skilled fighters .
I was absorbed by the story and will be reading others in the series. Although Richard Sharpe (in the books) is a cockney it seems that the Irish won the battles . Keane is Irish . Wellington is Irish (although he was not proud of the fact.It seems as if there is a move afoot to convert us all to being Irish and to persuade us what grand fellows they were.That is just my observation and does not detract from enjoying the book .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2017
I kept waiting for Keane to fall over Sharpe as he goes with Wellington through Portugal. The two obviously have a lot in common, though they are not clones. Keane also has his small hand of soldiers, but he is a bit rougher around the edges. It was nice too to meet up with Scovell in his capacity as leader of the scouts and messengers to which Keane is attached.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2017
A reasonable easy reading book, a bit of a light version of Sharpe. The book would benefit greatly from a rewrite to clear up repeated continuity errors. Specifically the frequent changes of rank sometimes in the same sentence of some of the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2017
In the same vein, but not as exciting as the Sharpe books. I did learn a bit about the Peninsular conflict as the story unfolded. Good enough to hold my interest to the end of the book and quite enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2017
As the title says a very easy read. Not up to the same standard as Sharpe, but certainly worth reading. Have just purchased the next in the series. I think James Keane is a character who could grow on you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2017
So good I got the rest of the series on James Keane's adventures.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2017
Good read. Sharpe rip off but too far fetched to be believable. Forget credibility and enjoy the story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2017
An enjoyable read and s good mix of characters. Keane shines through as a bit of a Jack the lad who leads a band of equally dodgy individual's. The story lines are not bad and works well with a touch of historic significance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2017
Keane is Sharpe in a different guise. I will no doubt read his further books of exploits of daring do. All a bit boys own easy escapeism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2017
Excellent book, easy to read, very descriptive and a fine yarn about Wellingtons exploring officers during the Peninsular war with France.
I hope Mr Gale will continue the saga as I am now on book 3 and enjoying them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse