Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2017
Quick delivery and fantastic film really enjoyed the retro style JL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
A really enjoyable movie which would make you wanna watch again. The pace is good and I like that they didn't focus on the trinity and provide more rooms for other characters to shine. If you're a big DC fan, you would definitely love this movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
One of the best DC animated movies ever, hands down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
This is a great animated movie. I am a big DC comic fan but I haven't read the graphic novels of New Frontier but after watching this I will. Its a great homage to the 50's DC comics which is why the cover is so cheesy. We get to see Batman as he first looked in the comics and later adapt after Robin joins him. The story paints the main three heroes (Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman) as the iconic heroes they are. The stories follows the stories of The Green Lantern, Martian Man Hunter and the Flash. Each character has their own journey to travel but it all ties in at the end.
If you are a DC fan this is a must buy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In the fifties, the world doesn’t know what to make of superheroes. Some of them are accepted and beloved, others not so much. When a mysterious entity known as The Center rises to thwart the planet, the core Justice Leaguers—Superman, Batman, Flash, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, and Martian Manhunter—must unite for the first time to stop what is seemingly an unstoppable threat.

Based on the best-selling graphic novel by Darwyn Cooke, Justice League: The New Frontier is unlike any Justice League movie out there. For starters, it’s a period piece. Nothing modern day here, with the story taking place between 1953 and 1960. Even more so, it’s art direction is based on Cooke’s art from the graphic novel, where each character was drawn in a very forties-style way: simple, with minimal muscle and heavy lines for eyes. No bodybuilding superheroes in this flick. And, of course, all the backgrounds, supporting cast and tech in the film were all time-appropriate as well. Even the “advanced tech” in the film was old school in its presentation and style.

The story was good—very much an origin story for the Justice League, with the overarching origin story being that of Green Lantern—and each character was faithful to their source material. The pacing was a bit slow at times, with lots of talking—there were a few moments where I was, like, “Get on with it!”—but at the same time, it being a period piece, TV and movies back then had lots of talking, too.

Not that talking is a bad thing. Just wished for a few more fast-paced sequences—not necessarily violence or fighting—to move things along.

Warner Bros. and DC Comics are amazing at their direct-to-market animated features, each one meant to stand on its own instead of where one story feeds off another. By doing that, they pick and choose the best graphic novels to adapt and don’t have to worry about the baggage of continuity as a result. Doing Justice League: The New Frontier afforded them an opportunity to do something wholly original and deliver something that modern day audiences haven’t seen in recent years: a superhero story that takes place in the past. After watching this, I wish someone in Hollywood would do a live action version of Superman or Flash or whoever, but set it in the past. You can still be true to the characters, as this story has shown, but give something fresh at the same time and, from a marketing and creative standpoint, give something original as a result.

Justice League: The New Frontier is a fantastic movie, and for those who want more of their favorite heroes but sometimes wish something new was done with them, then this is the flick for you.

Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
I read the graphic novel on which this is based a couple of years ago, so I'm already a big fan of the story. Great pains have been taken by the animators to retain Darwyn Cooke's unique graphical style, which must have been very costly, but well worth it. If you're a DC comics fan who can remember those wacky 60's and 70's comics with that chequered black-and-white strip across the top, you'll know what the title of this review means. The main thing I remember is that these comics were fun, and that's what comes across in this movie. There are some serious, even sombre plot lines in there which do make the story more satisfying, but the overriding feeling is one of exhuberant optimism. More power to DC for acknowledging that you don't have to go "dark" to be entertaining.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2008
Bit of a shock this one after just watching Justice League Unlimited. At the start I thought I was watching Samurai Jack. The animation takes a little getting used to, but as a comics fan I soon realised I had a gold nugget here.
The series is set in the mid Fifties at the start of the so-called Silver Age of comics where many of the characters of the Justice League began their careers, and was quite faithful to the comics of the era, with the origins of Green Lantern and J'onn J'onzz being well depicted. It also featured most other characters of that period, most notably for me Ace, from the yet to be formed Challengers of the Unknown, and scientist Ray Palmer as the future Atom.
I also liked the political background in which the story was set, and although not too impressed with the threat itself,there was enough going on and plenty of action for the film to be a satisfying experience.
I would recommend this to any fan of sixties comics. I can see no continuity with the newer series however.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There's a lot to like about Justice League: The New Frontier, but I'm afraid all of that is counterbalanced by one of the silliest stories I've ever seen in animation.

Set mostly in the 50s and featuring the DC hero fashion of that period the paranoid US government have blackballed all superheroes, claiming that they have something to hide beside their identities and dismiss them as Commies. The Flash is even ridiculed because of his RED costume. But soon they will have to come together again to fight a common enemy when (and I'm not kidding) a large floating, living island of dinosaurs called The Center plans to wipe out humanity.

I've read hundreds of comic books in my life and that is seriously the dumbest crap I have ever heard. Every other part of JL: TNF is far superior to this 'Center' nonsense, so it's such a shame that the main plot drags it down. I especially like the story about the Martian Manhunter and the Flash. Most of the JLA get a look-in but these two have the most substantial plots.

The animation style will be familiar to those who are fans of Warner/DC cartoons such as Batman and the 50s production design creates a nice atmosphere.

But that idiotic plot...

The Blu Ray looks brilliant in 1.78:1 1080p with a surprisingly good DD+ sound design. I do wish that Warner would give more of their feature length comic-book animations such as Batman - Mask of the Phantasm (Keepcase),The Batman Superman Movie,Batman & Mr. Freeze - SubZero,Batman - Mystery of the Batwoman (Keepcase) or maybe even some of the Scooby-Doo animated movies. Come on Warner...give us what we want/demand.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Definitely not your typical "Current Look" at JLA but a brilliant "Throwback Look" from the 50's early 60's and I absolutely love it! The spectre of McCarthyism shines a surprising relevance on todays "Spy on the people" culture and the fears and divisions it can cause ... The "We the people can win when we stand together ..." may seem a little cheesy to todays audience but to quote Agent Coulson, "With everything that's happening, the things that are about to come to light, people might just need a little old-fashioned."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Excellent story-telling. A very well constructed story having all the various DC characters together. Great to see the heroes portrayed with all their weaknesses as well as their strengths.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)