Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
76
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2005
Suitable for upper KS2 and secondary level, this is a great collection of literacy starters and warm-up activites. Many of the activities and games could be adapted for KS1 and lower junior. Corbett covers virtually every aspect of sentence structure and language use in this gem. He is an inspiring writer and his ideas have really livened up the start of literacy lessons in my year 5 class.
Highly recommended!
0Comment| 200 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2007
I have Jumpstart for over 3 years now and it has been invaluable in my Literacy planning. The games are split into sections, some are quick, others need more time - but all of the games are wonderful. My class has several firm favourites, and I have been particularly happy with the spelling games, of which many are now being played at the children's home whilst learning their spellings for the week. Jumpstart games can be applied to any year group and I would recommend it to any Teacher.
11 Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
Son loved them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Great ideas - as expected!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2007
I love it! The children in my class love it!

It is full of literacy starters and games to get children thinking. It fits really well with the Ros Wilson 2020 / Big Writing and the Literacy Hour.

I wouldn't be without it.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Excellent ideas for my planning
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2009
This is a must for ks2 teachers everywhere. This book provides a wealth of short games to start off your literacy lessons be in fiction, non fiction or poetry - sentence, text or word level work. The games really allow you to extend the childrens vocabulary and provide extra input into vital literacy skills in a fun way.
All NQT's should be given one! A wonderful book - the most regularly useful book i have bought for use in my classroom. Cant give it any higher praise. Mine is full of post it notes of all the activities i love and use regularly.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
This book is brilliant, filled with endless games to play during every aspect of literacy. I bought it to go with Letters and Sounds to make the sessions more interesting..i would recommend this book to any one who works with children during literacy who require a few extra ideas on how to make learning more fun.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2006
This has been a great classroom tool. It is easy read and has some great ideas. Some of them you may have already thought of, but on those rainy days when your brain just isn't working, it's great to be able to flip through the pages and find an inspiring starter. Or, in some cases the inspiration for a greta lessons; there are some lovely writing workshop ideas included. Great for 7-14's. A must have for every teachers tool box.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2007
I've used a few of the activities in this book 'as they stand' and they have worked very well with my Y7-Y8 classes who are about Level 2 - Level 4.

I don't feel it is something you could refer to as an emergency 10 minutes before the lesson starts. I have to either incorporate the activities into schemes of work or refer to it the night before/morning.

Covers all range of literacy activities and is an excellent resource in that respect.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)