Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
53
4.3 out of 5 stars
Juan of the Dead
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49


TOP 100 REVIEWERon 15 January 2013
Yes another Zomedy and what can be wrong with that, this one sees Cuba finally lurching slowly onto the Zombie comedy bandwagon, and they do so with style and élan. It stars Juan who with best mate Lazaro does fishing on a home made raft, he quite clearly is not a shining example of success from the worlds leading socialist island.

He has a thing for the ladies and he is separated from his wife and his daughter is fairly unimpressed with the ageing Lothario. Then strange things start to happen around the island involving what the authorities call `dissidents' that are clearly sponsored by the US government. It doesn't take too long for extreme acts of dissidents to spread and soon Zombies are appearing all over the place.

Meanwhile Juan and some of his neighbours are holed up in his flat, that clearly needs a lick of paint, and they weigh up their options and decide to fight back and as in all good comedies, hilarity does ensue. The band of freedom fighters are a very Motley Crew indeed which include a Muscle Mary who faints at the sight of blood and they use any weapon they can from nun chucks to boat paddles - genius.

This is a brilliant and refreshing film which although it has Zombies at its core has a great big heart that it wears on its sleeve all tied up with more gags than you can shake a stick at. It has very good sub titles and runs to just over an hour and a half and I enjoyed every minute of it. If you are a fan of comedy or zombies or like something a tad off the beaten track then I am sure you will enjoy this.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Yes, it's a goodun, but for laughs Sean Of The Dead is better, & for Zombie gravitas it has to be Romero. That said , this is a good laff sometimes, & gory too, so worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
Whilst it seems that there's a new zombie film being released almost every week, the genre was beginning to get as rotten and shambling as the walking dead themselves. So thank you Juan of the Dead for being a great zombie film. In fact not just a great zombie film but a good comedy as well that had me laughing on more than one occasion.

The story follows Juan and his friend Lazaro, a couple of jobless slackers just trying to do what they can to get by from one day to the next. Of course things are about to change when the walking dead start taking to the streets and munching on the neighbourhood. Not one to pass by an opportunity to make some money Juan hits on the idea of starting a zombie killing business whereby he (and a few companions) will dispose of your zombified relatives and houseguests...for a fee of course.

For those that aren't aware, the film is Cuban so you are going to have to read subtitles. For me that's not a problem as I do watch quite a lot of subtitled movies. I didn't notice any problems with the subtitling; they were easy to read and nicely paced so that at no time did I miss what was being said and find myself having to rewind in order to read them again.

I found it refreshing to see a familiar genre from an unfamiliar cultural viewpoint, this being the first Cuban film I think I've ever seen.

There are also numerous references to other movies littered throughout, ranging from Enter the Dragon to Braindead and they're nicely implemented making them seem like they are there because the filmmakers are fans of the films being referenced as opposed to showing them in an attempt to be clever.

The film rolls along at a cracking pace and is consistently entertaining, never getting bogged down in over complicated plot lines or tedious 'filler' moments. The acting is good and the characters are generally believable and likeable. Similarly the zombies are also well depicted.

It's one of those films that once you've watched it you want to tell your friends about it and recommend it to them. In fact it was so enjoyable that I could quite happily have watched it all over again.

In fact...I might do just that.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
With so many poor zombie flicks around I approached this one with some trepidation. How wrong I was. If there's any degree of justice in the world it should be destined to become a classic. Think 'Spanish Shaun of the Dead'. I don't know what the budget was but it looks pretty small, and there are a few 'holes' in the plot here and there but it all works out really well. With just enough laughs to keep you going. Well worth a watch. So if you've a couple of hours free and you like comedy zombie horror I recommend that you give it a go.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 January 2016
-------spoiler alert--------

This is a very good small budget film, with a nice feel for comedic timing and tone. It is essentially "Shaun of the Dead", but with more than enough originality, humour and style to make it feel fresh.

The undead are rising in Cuba (or as the government calls them; "dissidents"! ). Two slacker friends Juan (Alexis diaz de Villegas) and Lazaro (Jorge Molina) have personal problems of their own, however, they know a good zombie-based business opportunity when they see one.

The leads are not particularly sympathetic (sound familiar?), but you do start to care about them, which is a sign of the quality of the script and acting, particularly the friendship between the two; which is both touching and "typically male" at the same time. They have great comedic timing, which makes it even more enjoyable.

Cuba and Havana, in particular, look a mixture of beguiling Caribbean beauty and slow decay. Everything seems run down, broken or old fashioned. Given the makers were Cuban, I'm sure there are a few sly digs at the government in here, (I liked the zombie run transport system being no different to the normal one......I bet they were annoyed they missed that one in SotD!)
These, however, are done with obvious affection for their homeland and the people; who are shown as resourceful, brave and proud of their country. (Despite all the carnage around them, the joke about only taking a raft and escaping to Miami, as a "last resort", is a nice touch, too).

The gore is suitably comedic, in the spirit of similar films of this type and everyone looks like they're having fun with it.

One of the stand out scenes for me is in the harbour. There is a neat little homage to Jaws going on in the background, as the two friends chat. I also liked the very brief underwater scene, which for some reason reminded me of a passage from WWZ...except for the killer whale!

If you enjoyed "Shaun" I think you will really enjoy this too (dare I suggest it, even, maybe, a little more?)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 June 2012
Zombie fans will all have heard - and probably watched - the British zombie romantic comedy, Shaun of the Dead, so, what does Cuba's film industry have to say on the subject?

First of all they're probably not doing themselves or the film any favours by blatantly copying an existing film. People will think it's just a rip off, when it most certainly is not.

Okay, so the two do share some common traits: zombies (obviously), humour, gore, lovable losers fighting to survive etc. However, believe it or not, Juan does stray into enough new territory to make it worth a watch. First of all, it's seriously darker than Sean - the `heroes' make some pretty self-centred decisions along the way (good fun to watch), also the back-drop is different enough to warrant a mention. Gone are the familiar streets of London and instead we see life in Cuba. Whereas Shaun and his mates simply wanted to escape the zombie menace, Juan and his band decide that they're okay with it. They simply lock themselves in their house and start up a new business where they offer to charge people money to kill/dispose of their loved ones!

All in all, if you like dark, gory comedy (and have a thirst for watching the undead in action), give it a go - maybe one day Shaun and Juan can get together over a pint and glass of rum and swap tips on the best way to deal with an undead outbreak.

Oh, and be prepared for subtitles with Juan (they kill the only English-speaking character pretty quickly!).
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Must viewing for Zombie film lovers and for anyone who needs/loves to fall over themselves laughing. What a surprise and PLEASE don't not watch this because it has subtitles because you will miss a funny, charming (can zombie flicks be charming?) film. Great cast, well paced, so much fun - this deserves all the great reviews.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Plenty of blood and gore all over the floor, with a twisted love story and the tragic loss of some main characters, all with some very inventive ways of despatching Zombies of all kinds. View this movie if you've got a silly time in mind and it won't disappoint.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
By far my most favourite zombie film of all time, I’m not ashamed to say it. Juan of the Dead is the Cuban piss take of a British piss take zombie movie. The story line is very similar to Shaun of the Dead, but adapted to fit the social and political status of Southern America. Also includes the ‘best homosexual declaration of love’ EVER! I don’t care if it’s a satire film, it still comes at the top of my list. Also, sorry, but it’s another Spanish film, however if you can pain yourselves to sit through just one foreign film with subtitles, please let it be this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Battery
£4.49
The Perfect Host
£0.99
Society
£0.99
31
£3.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)