Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2009
Have just finished reading. Was not sure what i expected having watched all Whickers TV shows. I must say it was really good. I read most of it last thing at night, now this was brilliant as i fell to sleep with far away places to dream about. I think Whickers discriptions are spot on with regards to the people he meets as well as the places he visits. I think the title sums the book up well "Journey of a lifetime" I have just got into the biog books having just read both of Mike Pannetts books. At last i have found some books which I won't sling out and that I can read again. 3 great books if you're stuck for ideas.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
This is a kind of best-of and warmed-up Whicker, full of stuff he's written about before, together with some updates on his most famous stories, and some uncharacteristically dull anecdotes of the 'my great friend X the successful Y and his beautiful wife' type. He returns to Palm Beach to find that the Russians have moved in. He describes again the interviews with Getty and the Sultan of Brunei. He reflects on some of the social phenomena that he first reported on in the 60s and 70s, such as plastic surgery and spas, that have now gone mainstream. He retells again the Papa Doc story. He visits some unusual locations - Norfolk Island, Nauru and Three Hummock Island (near Tasmania) - and makes them sound fascinating enough to look up later on Google Earth and wikipedia. You learn very little about Whicker himself except that he wants to be considered as bon-vivant, courageous and gentlemanly, and there's a consciously retro 70s feel in the yacht- champagne- Bentley- sunshine- emphasis. On the downside, I thought I detected a certain new and unappealing smugness and reactionariness, and the book does feel lazily written, with a lot of cliches, a few typos and a few below-par short chapters that felt like fill-ins. So it's maybe mostly OK for fans and completists, or as a quick intro to what this inimitable reporter has been doing over the last 60 years.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
This book is a fantastic read and provides a fascinating in-sight into Alan Whicker's remarkable life. This is a must for anyone. The stories, anecdotes and people he has encounterted make this a truly brilliant book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
This book gives you an insight to the many adventures the writer has been involved in, the many famous and infamous people he has met along the way. Alan Whicker started the travel bug for many people, even before Judith Chalmers, no stone was left unturned by Alan Whicker,who let the viewer see the good and bad things of the country he was visiting, His T.V. series were a must for millions of viewers, make this book one for your reading list.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Alan Whicker, reminds me of David Niven, in life demonstrating a character that is urbane, charming, witty and intelligent. His stories ooze humour, pathos and great interest. As a child, watching him on TV, I failed to appreciate how skilled a journalist he was, because he made it look effortless -probably the real skill. This book,written around 1997 is an excellent read. A mix of stories and characters it will hold you enthralled. The real character in the book, however, is the author himself, what an era, what a life, what a man. His like will never be seen again. Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
I took this book on holiday with me and found it a very easy read. Bringing back memories for me of the tv programmes many years ago. A book as good as the tv programmes!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
alans best of the last few trips around the globe, entertainment of the travel sort you just don't get from anyone else, the master at his best, highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
Reading Alan Wicker's book is like having his voice in your ear. His book is well written, good photographs and he manages to get into the corners of his people-meets. He sets the scene and what is happening trying to get his programme made - the interesting tit bits like running out of film just as he is invited to meet Papa Doc and so has to have snap shots do the business.
What a lucky man to have had a job which is exciting, meeting some great and bad people and getting paid for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Enjoyable summaries selected from the famous Whickers World TV archive, entertaining and honest assessments throughout. Whicker was a natural relaxed communicator. As a young man I thought he had the best job in the world, travelling extensively and meeting interesting if not unusual people and places, the book makes you feel like you are enjoying the trip alongside the master.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
Very interesting book. Reminded me of the marvellous Whickers World. It was good to read about the people he interviewed and what had happened to them. It wa also very interesting to read about his wartime experiences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)